You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Medicating Children with Additional Needs

in #adsactly7 years ago

As an adult with ADHD, I take adderall to improve my functionality. It does sound scary to think of them altering brain chemistry, but you have to remember that my brain, and the brains of other ADHD people (like your son) are structured differently from yours, and so we really do need the extra help sometimes!

That said, his bad reactions to the first couple meds sound really scary. I'm glad you all found one that works for him now, and it sounds like his school work has already seen a vast improvement—hooray! I was diagnosed as an adult, and the difference that diagnosis, accommodations in school, and medication have made to my life is really amazing. If your son chooses college, most schools have pretty great accommodations for ADHD, so he might be able to achieve even more in higher education. Hopefully things will keep improving for him.

I hope you have a great trip!

Sort:  

Thank you! It really is great to hear from adults with ADHD who find that the meds help as it is such a worry medicating your child. I did find it strange that stimulants would help to calm him down but as you say, his brain works differently and reacts differently to stimulants, and I guess that is they key to the meds working. I am so happy that they have changed your life for the better and I hope that the positive experience continues with my son too. I know he can do great things if he sets his mind to it and if the meds help him to acheive his goals then I am happy for him to continue with them. thanks again for your insight, I really appreciate it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62