You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Medicating Children with Additional Needs

in #adsactly6 years ago

I've had a really bad experience with psychiatry and drugs in general. I was diagnosed with "Aspergers" HFA at a young age. However I believe I did have Tourette's and not autism. I was at one point prescribed stimulants off label. I'd later be diagnosed with ADHD PI. Although a lot I bleive was stress at home and holding in my tics. School never went well. Along with a messed up sleep clock which they wanted to "reset"with stimulants. They made me spacey and on edge. Despite in the end my education not being complete. I found some solutions on my own that may help. I was diagnosed with Aspergers mainly because of an IQ gap. Poor Spacial reasoning. I ended up finding Irlen. Irlen can cause a lot of problems, or add them. Stuff included Sensory processing, attention, and learning issues. May be worth looking into. Esp since side effects. They help me a great deal. Many of my initial problems are non existent with them.

Much cheaper than a lot of of other support. There are programs that offer more individualized learning from completely self directed to just very supported teaching. There's also groups that offer help with school work for cheap or free. I've been thought a bit of the basics of Applied Scholastic from being in Course room at Scientology. Basically just a string emphasis on looking up words and getting feedback from their basic courses until I get it right. Not sure if a similar approach would help him. I also tic a ton. I really can't focus as well if I'm suppressing. Ironically sometimes I would overfocus to get my mind off if it. I got bad rebound effects from the blood pressure drugs. They handed me the pills while denying I even had Tourette's. I definitely needed to sleep a lot while my body was adjusting to them though and start slowly. Although I'm hoping I can overcome them someday. I hope your son is able to overcome his and get the support he needs.

Sort:  

wow! Sounds like you have had a really tough time! I am glad you found something that works for you. I have to say we stuck with the stimulants and his concentration levels are better in school, however the tics are getting worse and he is finding them frustrating to deal with. It is hard to know what to do as a parent. The doctors have tried every medication licenced for ADHD now and they all have side effects. I worry that if I try to self medicate him, I will do more harm than good, also the added worry of going to prison for illegally drugging my child of course lol Even though I know there are things out there that would possible help him, I am not allowed to use them according to the government. Apparently they own our children and our own lives.. sigh :(

Thanks. Lol, self medicating isn't great. Have done a bit with supplements and drink from rebounds with the psych drugs ESP. Lol glad the filters for Irlen syndrome don't have side effects like those. Sounds rough though. Haha they are very happy to give out their own drugs. Even threaten legal to remove some. Not sure what drugs you mean.
I think any legal supplement is fine pretty much or OTC. I'm not too versed on helping attention problems, or even tics which is one of my main problems. Looking into nutrition in general and hoping to find answers. Tend to keep to myself a lot fear the mental coprolalia will turn into actually coprolalia again. Sorry it's so hard now. Wish had a good solution, but I've mainly been at a loss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76