You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Medicating Children with Additional Needs

in #adsactly6 years ago

Your post was really insightful as it gave me a perspective opposite of mine. I'm in the last year of my pharmacy education, and have been working for almost a decade in the field. I'd like to say first that I agree with the majority of what you've said; these drugs are serious with effects that shouldn't be taken lightly, so you're right to be hesitant. But there shouldn't be any remorse for having to resort to medication use to control an issue as a last resort, that's what they are there for.

As for the issue with not taking them on the weekend; because of the type of ADHD medication he's on, It's not recommended for him to go off of it even for a few days. As you said, since it's an ER formulation, it takes longer for his body to have steady levels (could be the reason he was feeling great the first day, then down the second). This could cause him to have those feelings every time he gets back on it after a weekend off. So in a way, it's best for him to stay consistent with his therapy, until he's ready to go off of it entirely.

Last thing I'll say, I hear stories like yours all the time while at work, you're definitely not alone in this situation. But that also means there's a magnitude of resources for you to help you with your decisions.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your response! I am glad you told me about the break issue, I suspected that could be the case which is why I have continued him on it, but there is so much info on the internet that it is hard to know what to believe. Great to hear directly from someone in the medical profession about the scientific effects of the drugs.
As for the remorse, I think it is more of a feeling of hoplessness from a parent's point of view. We try so hard to protect them from all the bad things in life (drugs included) and then having to resort to something we are trying to protect him against just so he can function in society feels almost like we have failed him. I know this doesn't make sense from a medical point of view, but any parent will understand what I mean by this. Thank you for your kind words, you have certainly helped me to come to terms with our decidion to medicate, just that little bit more :)

It may help if you don't think of it as failing your son, think of it as society failing him. The school doesn't have the resources to provide him extra support, and schools are structured in a very rigid and specific way that doesn't work for everyone. These external pressures are not your moral failing—you are doing the best you can in a tough situation, and that's all anyone can ask.

Yeah filtering all of the information is not easy anymore, and I doubt it'll ever get easier. Thankfully though, most doctors and pharmacists are a call away :)

I'm a fairly new parent (3 year old) and I can relate to wanted to protect them from everything, but I haven't had to make the kind of decision you've had to yet. Even with my background, I doubt it'll be any easier. I like to think that we have several options to help most medical issues (from exercise, diet, meditation, drugs, etc.), and even as a future pharmacist, the drug option should almost always be the last option. But just because we're at that option, doesn't mean we've failed our children, it means we have more work ahead of us to ensure the medication stays safe and effective.

From the little I know of your story, I really hope this ends up being an safe/effective therapy for you guys. Trying to find something that works is always the most stressful part for a family.

thank you, I appreciate your kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76