You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New beginnings everywhere... Learning about MICROHOLDINGS #adsactly #ecotrain

in #adsactly6 years ago

Although we are lucky enough to have a fair bit of land, the amount we actually use for growing our veg is small.

With 'intensive' (although still organic) gardening you can produce a whole lot from a small space.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Sort:  

What crops do you find take up the least amount of room if you don't mind me asking? Obviously it is too late to start planting now, but I want to try and plan it out ready for next year. unless you can recommend some veggies that I can plant now too? :D

Carrots and lettuce are good ones that don't take too much room. And onions.

I like broad beans and beetroot too.

I grow a lot of cabbages and brassicas but they take a lot of room for what you get out of them, and they need netting to keep the butterflies off.

There is still time to get some things this year - like carrots and lettuces. We still have about 10 - 12 weeks of good growing time.

awesome, thank you! I had forgotten about beetroot, I love pickled beetroot on a salad, you can't beat it! :D I am off to get some carrot and lettuce seeds now haha

You can often pick up some cheap seeds this time of year. Even places like Wilko and the other big stores try to clear their stocks now.

yep, off to wilkos I went lol my hubby has even sectioned off some of the garden for me already and I have planted the seeds this afternoon! :D I have lettuce, radish and carrots in the ground and hopefully they will grow nicely with all this sunshine :)

That's excellent. Let me know how they grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40