You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Short Story - A Trip from Desolation

in #adsactly6 years ago

Sad but very beautiful story, @churchboy! You almost made me cry. I feel especially sorry because I know that what you are telling is happening in many parts of the world. I regret, on the one hand, that there are cultures where women are considered the property of men and on the other hand, where marriage is arranged and there are girls suffering so much. I can imagine what Mother Eno had to go through and my heart breaks into a thousand pieces. Sometimes behind great achievements, there are great women who dared to sacrifice and get ahead. I like the message left by today's history: beyond adversity, education is a good way to get ahead, to make a difference. The one who is educated is capable of breaking barriers and the yoke. Education is the heritage of the poor. A nice message to begin the week. I embrace you!

Sort:  

Thank you @nancybriti. Yes, it is a truly heartbreaking story. I started writing the story a week ago but it was so sad that I had to stop midway and let it be. I have not been to the Becheve tribe in Cross River state of Nigeria but the news we have about them is that there are money marriages and love marriages. Therefore there are money wives and love wives. Money wives are properties of their husbands and ownership is transferred to the next of kin of the husbands in the even of his death, thereby sealing the fate of such women.

I would blame all of this on poverty and lack of government presence in the area when you consider that the total cost of acquiring a money wife is about 100 SBD or about 80 Dollars. All the government needs to do is to make such acts criminal and the problem would be solved once and for all. Sadly, the problem is still there. The least we can do is talk about it. I am glad the story roused an emotion from you, my friend.

Many hugs. All the best to you and your family :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66