Portrait of a popular sailor

in #adsactly5 years ago

This short post is my participation in the ADSactly Community Photo Contest. I do it in amateur condition, so much so that my camera is not professional and even old technology (Kodak EasyShare CD82). This is the "portrait" photo I propose.


The area where I live in Venezuela, the coastal east, specifically the State of Sucre, has as its main tourist attraction its beaches. In the bay of Mochima, a paradisiacal place that consists of several visitable beaches, there is an office of much expertise, effort and nobility that is the one of the drivers of the boats that take the visitors to the different destinies of the bay from very early in the morning until the last hours of the afternoon. I leave you another picture of a part of that enchanting space.

The photo I propose is that of one of those famous "boat drivers"; Martin is his name, who rendered a responsible and diligent service in transporting (carrying and searching) visitors, and also cultivated and sold oysters on the different beaches. Our friend, due to the harsh economic and social circumstances that our country goes through, had to abandon the first thing, because he lost his boat.

In the photo, which I was able to take in one of the many trips I made to Mochima and in which he served as a driver, we see him with his restrained expression, his tired look from daily work, but attentive; his own features of someone from these lands and his skin tanned by the inclement sun; the body of a person who lives between hard work, the pleasure of the tasty foods of these villages and the drink to accompany daily life; his necklace of seashells, which reaffirms his vital belonging; erect, almost like a hero, in the manual driving of the engine that governs the boat's advance through the waters of that divine sea.

Thank you for your attention.

Sort:  

What a beautiful post, José! A tribute to Mr. Martin. Reading it not only reminded me of it, but also made me a lump in my throat thinking how difficult life has been, even for these people accustomed to fighting daily. What you explain is there, in its features: a language made for a few. As a quote from The Little Prince says: The essential is invisible to the eyes. Congratulations on this image. Greetings

I appreciate your affectionate comment, @nancybriti. Martin is a person (some would say a "character"), like many others in ordinary life, who deserves our recognition. I wanted to do it through my modest photo, taking advantage of the opportunity of this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69