You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Genetics Play a Role in IQ?

in #adsactly7 years ago (edited)

Neither of my parents were around, and I turned out just fine without their influence. Genetics matter. We know that to be true for all other species, so why would it be different for ours?

All of us have the ability to learn, and some of us take longer than others. I'm not a swift learner, but I am tenacious. Character and grit make up for lack of natural ability.

There are many different types of intelligence too. In high school I did not pay attention at all and almost failed out my second year. When I took the SAT, I scored a combined 864. LOL

Later, I went to college and learned what I should have learned in high school, and was in the honor society. I also graduated summa cum laude for my BS degree. That SAT score didn't matter much in the end, right?

The IQ tests do not really mean much anyway. Because of educational background and cultural differences, the tests are very biased. Every ethnic background has both strengths and weaknesses. Each has quick learners and slow learners.

We are varied and that's a good thing. The variations strengthen our species.

I have met some super smart, quick learning, people. They were bumbling idiots though when it came to common sense. They may have a high IQ, but their emotional intelligence may be dismal. Each person is different.

Intelligence also doesn't equal good ethics. I'd rather have people with good ethics in charge than people of high intelligence if forced to choose. We've all seen, from countless examples in our history, how dangerous it is to have highly intelligent (IQ type) people in charge.

You mentioned dating smart people in your conclusion. There's no worse turn off for me than ignorance. That isn't a person's ability to learn or not though as you know. I'd pick a tenacious warrior over an ethically corrupt erudite every time.

Sort:  

@finnian you made an excellent reply and did justice to the whole genetics vs smart people thing. As in every rule or thing that has to do with human, 1+1 may not always be equal to two. Thanks for your input.

Agreed and thanks! There are definitely a lot of variables. When I first met my wife, I'd go visit her on the weekends since she was many hours away. After a few weekend trips, I went to hug her from behind. When I did, I smelled her neck. She wasn't creeped out or anything because we were already being intimate. however, she teases me to this day about it. Why did I smell her though? If the other person naturally smells amazing to you, I'd swear it is a signal that you'll have good offspring. Animals smell each other in that way too, so perhaps there's some real science behind it. ha ha

There is always a science to explain even the most mundane occurrences/things of life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68596.26
ETH 2701.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72