Take out those old jeans and turn them into something new....👖

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)


<divclass="text-justify">

Since I started working at Steemit I have really discovered a new world, here you can work on beautiful things, things that fill you with satisfaction.

Recycling gives me a lot of joy, to see how we reuse those things we had stored and turn them into beautiful things is sensational.



Recycling

My invitation today to all people is that we take advantage of our ingenuity, our imagination, our creativity, let's find those old jeans and do something new, if they see the amount of things that can be done with those worn out jeans you have at home.

Jean's fabric is very strong, so what you do will last a lifetime.

Hands to work...👏

Search and you will find. Check that closet and you'll get the right pants for this project and otherwise look with your friends to see who has one.

The pants I used for this project are size 7/8, low cut and I say this to give you an exact idea of the shape and size.

step #1

The first thing we are going to do is to accommodate the trousers by joining the edges at the top, so that they are well aligned. Then we take a measurement of 34 cm from the waistband to the leg and cut over the mark as shown in the photograph.



Step #2

We open the entire seam in the crotch very carefully so as not to damage the fabric.



Step # 3

In the front we are going to join both sides, but as the fabric is a little raised, we are going to look for the way to put that inside; I first did it with the help of the pins and then I passed the sewing machine. 👇



The same thing happens with the fabric on the back, so if you want it to be flat, look for a way to put that excess fabric inside.

Step #4

Now we're shaping our bag, so now put it upside down and place the bottom, pin the fabric well and pass a straight, zigzag seam to keep the fabric from fraying.


Step #5

This is where I think we should be more careful when making the bag, putting the zipper on requires some care, as in the picture, first we fix it with a needle and thread and then when we are completely sure that it is OK, we proceed to pass the sewing machine.


Step #6

With what is left of the leg of the pants we are going to take out two strips, in this case they measure 14 X 56 centimeters. 👇



As we have enough fabric, and we want it to be well reinforced, we make them as if we were making a bias, we take the sides to the middle and then we put them together again so that they fit at the end of 4 cm and pass the straight seam.



Step #7

In this last step we are going to place the strip in the bag, for this we open some holes inside the waistband of the trousers and we locate the strips, looking for that they remain in the same position.


Finally


We can decorate with whatever we want, I simply used 2 meters of ribbon #3 and with a strip of jeans I made a flower.

I am very satisfied with the result, it was as I had imagined it would be. Now all my friends want one and I think I got a job for a while. 👇



Anecdote

To have made these pants brings back good memories of my childhood and I can't stop telling you, I remember my mother had a jeans apron and she always took coins out of her pockets, I remember at my grandmother's house there was a beautiful blanket of light and dark colors, that covered the bed where they put us to bed, I remember the big bag where my father took the food to work. In other words, my family has always reused their old trousers.

I hope you liked this work I did with a lot of love for you, I offer my apologies to my friends and followers for my absence these days, but the internet in the area where I live has had many problems, I was very happy because 15 days ago they had solved the problem of the CANTV box that had burned down and now it turns out that some cables were stolen. But here's Carolina for a while and I'll keep looking for a way to get my work to you, let's keep going friends, see you soon.




image.png

Sort:  

This is very pretty upcycled jeans @carolinacardoza. And your bag has lots of pockets which I like :)

This is amazing... so many steps and you explained everything so well. But I have to admit, I think this project is a bit too advanced for me. I have jeans I want to take in and this is already to difficult for me... sigh (and my sewing mashine does not want to work with jeans)

Love this! My aunt used to make jean purses all the time and I remember I had a purple one out of some purple jeans. Yours is super cute! Thanks for the quick tutorial on how to put it together. Most excellent job!

Cool. I have been engaged in a similar project. These are some of my old posts.
Upcycling fabric is my thing. I am currently crocheting a rug from strips of old fabric.
https://steemit.com/creativity/@girlbeforemirror/i-have-had-a-win-after-some-crappy-crafting-projects
https://steemit.com/creativity/@girlbeforemirror/needle-work-monday

Brilliant!! Your jean bag turned out so nice @carolinacardoza! I love that you added a zipper and the ribbon dresses it so nice. Thank you for sharing this upcycle project with included steps and pictures! Well done~ 😊

I’m so glad you were able to post this week~

P.S. As cute as this bag is I think you will be very busy with requests! 😄

Love the bag! Though I hate sewing jeans - I always bring them to a friend or even a seamstress ;)

you're right! denim - an eternal cloth. so it's wise not to throw it away but make a new thing out of it. bag super!

I love it!! And you are absolutely right, denim is perfect for a bag because it is so hardy. Thank you for sharing this clever idea!!

Wow, I really LOVE this idea! Jeans fabric is so strong, these would make excellent book bags! We use our library a LOT and this would be a great way to haul books around! Thanks for the how-to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68316.98
ETH 3856.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65