My Sweet escape 2: Zambales and beyond

in #adsactly6 years ago

The Philippines is an archipelago. Thus there are a lot of islands here. It will take a lifetime to finish visiting the 7107 islands that compose the country. I was so blessed to have friends who included me in their adventure despite my physical state. With this act of kindness, I was able to visit two more islands of the Philippines. We spent 3 days of relaxation.

The invitation

It was Wednesday night. I went to the house of my best friend, @mariejoyacajes to remit some raffle tickets I sold. As we were updating each other about our lives, she was able to tell me about their three-day vacation in Zambales, a province north of Philippines' capital city, Manila. She and her husband and her other relatives are together on this journey. They all happen to be my friend.

(the miracle transaction)

All is set. They have planned this getaway for more a month and they are already prepared for their travel tomorrow, Thursday. I was surprised. I only have a day to prepare and decide. I really want to see Zambales. It is well known for its fine white sand beaches. I want to come. This can be my only chance to have a once in a lifetime getaway. I am 33 yrs old and I haven"t seen a beach all my life. I am really dreaming of sleeping in the sand watching the stars. Also, I want to witness a sunset, a colorful sunset. However, I don't have the budget for this.

Miracles happen when you really want it. The morning after that night, I received product orders thru facebook in my online business. I was able to have the money I need. It was truly a blessing. The universe conspired so I can experience a real camping. That is just unbelievable.

The Preparation

Actually, this is my first camping and I don't know what to do.

Luckily, these friends of mine already arranged everything we need. So I just packed up my belongings for a three-day adventure. I also prepared my medicine for three days. I should not miss any of these. Our call time is 12midnight but at 9pm I am already prepared. I am so excited for this. When we saw each other, I was surprised that they have light bags and their outfit are only shorts and shirt. But it's too late for a change. Maybe I am just anxious because it is my first time. Haha

The Travel

From Antipolo we ride a jeepney and landed to Alimall, Cubao for P34.00. From there we ride a taxi towards the Victory Liner Terminal for P100 per 4 people. Thus, it is P25 pesos each. We are 8 in the group so we have to take two taxis. We were divided into two groups. Unfortunately, the driver of our taxi lost sight of the other taxi to where the group is. More unfortunately, we went to a wrong terminal.
It took us time to ride another taxi so we went on walking towards the other terminal. We walked for about 30 minutes and I was carrying my heavy backpack. Not to mention that I was wearing pants and a sweater. When we arrive at the right terminal the bus that we were supposed to ride has already departed. So we have to wait until 3 am for the nest ride towards Olangapo, our first stop.

(smiling again after the encouragement)

During that time I am really feeling exhausted. It is as if this decision of mine is testing me. Honestly, I was discouraged. I just want to go home and rest. But my friends insisted me to pursue. As they say, just smile and all things will be fine. Glad that I have these people with me to motivate me and encourage me.

When it was time for us to board the bus I fell asleep. We ride a bus towards Olongapo, Pampanga for P270.00. The next thing I know is we are at the first bus stop. Luckily I fell asleep and I was able to recharge. When we reach Olangapo we transfer to another bus going to San Antonio, Zambales for P54.00. Along the ride, I was able to witness great sceneries: farmlands, mountains and more. I felt a feeling I can't explain. The morning wind from the window of the bus eases my aching body. As the wind touches my face, I feel that it is caressing my soul. I was grateful I didn't give up.

Touchdown San Antonio, Zambales

So we are finally in Zambales but we still have not reached our destination. From the town proper of San Antonio, Zambales we need to ride a tricycle for 100 pesos per ride. Four people can be accommodated by a tricycle so its P25.00 each.

But before we push through, we stop by San Antonio Public Market to buy things we need for three days. We bought chicken meats, spices, rice and other kinds of stuff. But what really amazed me was the public market itself. It is the cleanest and most organize market I have seen. There is no foul smell even in the fish section. The fish they sell are still moving. Wow!

Finally at Pundaquit, Zambales

The rike ride was an epic one. We passed by a bridge made of mixed materials. Its floor is made up fo wood. Zambalenos are marvelous for making a strong bridge with a wooden floor that accomadates vehicle to and fro. I admit I was really skeptikal whether the bridge will fall down or have a cracked while we are passing it.

After the trike ride, we finally arrive at Pundaquit, Zambales woooohooo!!!!

074.jpg

It took me 33 yrs before I was able to see a beach hahahaha!. Arriving at Mang Mando's beach resort was such an achievement for me. Imagine I am a person with a disability but I am able to come here. Hurray!

It was 8 am when we arrive at the seaside of Pundaquit, Zambales. After a breakfast, I hurriedly went along the shore and took my epic selfies. I was totally amazed. The sands were fine and so soft. The breeze is totally relaxing.

(the islands are those small land masses at the backgrounds)

Moreover, the view is breathtaking. I can see islands from where we are.
As I go back to the cottage where my group is still eating breakfast, they told me that we are going for an Island hopping. I was doubly surprised as I thought we are already where we should be. The Island I see from where I am are the Islands where we will be going. After that, we are going to camp two nights and two days at Anawangin cove which is still far from where we are.

But I was startled because that means we are going to cross the sea. I haven't been on the sea. I mean the wide sea. I haven't tried a boat ride all my life. I was pretty scared and excited at the same time. I was paranoid that a lurking danger could probably beneath the sea. Should I ride the boat or not? I am not afraid of heights but I am afraid of depth.. dark deep depths......
I was confused... and the next thing that happened was out of my sane mind.

My first ever boat ride

097.jpg

I have no choice, I have to ride the boat. When we are in the sea already towards the first island, Camara Island, I was shouting at the top of my lungs to release my fears and nervousness. (I am a kind of person that still smile even though I am really angry or scared. I don't know why I am like that.)
And then, an unexpected event happened. The boat we were riding suddenly stopped. We are in the middle of the sea between the Camara Island and the mainland Zambales. We are far away from the mainland nor from the island. Then the waves started striking on us. The boat is bobbing as if it is going to turn upside down. One minute, two minutes, five minutes , the boat engine is still not working.
OH no my fear is about to happen.......

Kindy tuned in to my next blog for the continuation of this 3 day adventure :) :) :)

Sort:  

nakakamis ang zambales. sarap balik balikan

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 97 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

wow thank you so much @trufflepig. This is such an honor

Hi @beyonddisability, thanks for using @steemph.antipolo's services I give 90% upvote for this post thanks to : @beyonddisability

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90