🌿 Roasted Moroccan Carrot and Quinoa Salad 🌿

in #adsactly6 years ago

IMG_3671.JPG

Happy weekend, Steemians! Here in South Africa we are almost in full summer. This means loads of outdoor braais (barbeques), beach visits and never ending summer days.


In South Africa, we braai A LOT. Having a birthday party? Let's braai. It's your kid's birthday? Let's braai! It's Saturday? Let's BRAAI!

Having all of these outdoor meals calls for a great salad. In South Africa the most traditional braai sides are coleslaw (boriiing!!!) and potato salad. I like to change things up and make something amazing! My friends call me The Salad Queen 💁


IMG_4371.JPG

My latest creation is this nutty Roasted Moroccan Carrot and Quinoa Salad. I'm kinda proud of it. It's vegan, tasty, crunchy and full of flavour.

Here's how to make it:

INGREDIENTS:

  • Six to eight medium sized carrots, cut into matchsticks.
  • 1 x 400g can of chickpeas
  • 1 cup of cooked red quinoa, packed
  • small handful of mint leaves, torn
  • small handful of basil leaves, torn
  • large handful of coriander, chopped fine
  • sprinkling of sliced almonds
  • cumin
  • powdered ginger
  • smoked paprika (you can find this in the Spanish/Mexican food aisle)
  • chinese five spice (if you don't have, sub with cinnamon)
  • salt and pepper

METHOD

Preheat the oven to 200'C (392'F). Place your carrot matchsticks on a baking tray, and glug a bit of olive oil over them. Add a sprinkle of the cumin, ginger and five spice. Season with salt and pepper, and place in the hot oven for about twenty minutes. Keep an eye on them, as they cook quickly. You want them to be roasted evenly, with a good crisp, but not to the point that they are blackened.

IMG_4349.JPG

In a small baking tray, place the chickpeas, and sprinkle in the smoked paprika. Not too much, as it can get a bit bitter. The chickpeas should look like baked beans in tomato sauce do 😜 Bake them for around twenty minutes, or until cooked through with a slight crisp.

While your carrots and chickpeas are roasting, you can assemble the cooked quinoa and chopped herbs in your serving bowl. When they are done, if you are serving the salad as a warm dish, you can add them in then, or wait for them to cool.

IMG_9355.jpg

Once cool, mix into the bowl with the almonds.

Serve with hummus to keep it vegan. You can add some crumbled feta cheese if it's looking all too healthy for your liking. 😜

IMG_9354.jpg

Hope you enjoyed my lekker (great) salad! For more deliciousness, head onto my personal steemit blog HERE

Authored by @princessmewmew

adsactly gif.gif

Sort:  

Such a nice way for salad! Perfect for BRAAI! I can't wait for summer in Europe, so I will be doing it for sure for BBQ. Or maybe I'll do it sooner :D Thank you for lovely recipe 💕

Thanks @babettx - it's a lovely recipe! You can also have it warm for winter nights!

lots of love
💜 @princessmewmew

Wow sounds like life is good or should I say braailiant!?
Cold jokes aside. It looks like a really nice recipe ! I have been watching this cooking show and there seems to be more and more influences of Moroccan food.

Hehehhe! 100% upvote for this cute comment!

I am literally obsessed with Moroccan flavours. My next thing i want to try is a lamb tagine!

lots of love
💜 @princessmewmew

Lamb is my favorite! :)

For me, not eating any meats or fish, this barbecue would be one of the best to be invited to. This salad is everything I'd need. Total satisfaction! 😋

100% upvote for the sweetest comment ever! Thank you @pusteblume, that was very kind.

I must admit, I've made it twice this week.

lots of love
💜 @princessmewmew

Looks delicious, no boring lettuce leaves, thanks @adsactly :) Definitely going to try this! Summer has hit us here in Durban with a bang after a chilly spell so braai and salads are back on the menu!

AJ picked your post @adsactly for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Yo ,
Very interesting read, Thanks you for sharing it!

Wow, a great dish, I think it's very tasty and it's full of vitamins! Thank you @adsactly

can you up vote my comment.. becasue my reputation is very low due to my own mistakes.. i want to rebuild it by your cooperation.

Hi @serkagan! Thanks for your comment, it's much appreciated 😌

lots of love
💜 @princessmewmew

The salad looks really delicious and fresh. Thanks for sharing @adsactly.

Wow, thanks for sharing this delicious and healthy recipe!😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78