MISSING PIECES : CHAPTER ONE

in #adsactly6 years ago


If you want to talk about perfect marriage, mine wasn't too enchanting like others may think or say, but it was worth it. Victor and I have been married for a year now and we hunger for more of this relationship. ..children, finances, care and more than what lovers can ever think of in a perfect bliss.

Back to the basics

We had started out as friends when I was in my ss2...when I say Friends, just friends, no mutual feelings until our university education separated us. During those moments of separation which took a span of six years, no meetings, no calls or texts. ..back then I didn't have a phone nor did my parents ever value the fact that I needed one, everything was just books, siesta, eat, books and books again -really my childhood days could be classify as boring ...i agree. I had developed affection for Victor and I could feel I wanted more, I wanted that four letters word many people are dying for but it was all a Waterloo. ..not yielding any fruits.
I, Beatrice, turned down many dates. I know you will criticize me but honestly I wasn't that bad. I had a lot of dates, many to be precise... Am still counting though. I can be very romantic and jovial and honestly I do love the company of boys... My best friends are known to be boys and boys only. I had crushes, made "yanga ", turned down dates, enjoyed a lot of lame and good toasting lines but in the end, I pray for only one person, "Victor " to be safe wherever he is.
Everything didn't just work out fine the way I wanted it. I lived in a wonderful illusion I created... My beautiful imagination of Victor. Six years became a life of emotional torment for me... At least I tried hard to survive in it.
And then one cool evening, I met this new guy who came to the hospital to get his mother treated. His eyes were all over me... Did I forget to tell you the part that I am a nurse? ...i just couldn't concentrate and was trying hard to resist. I felt like choking out his eyes and am like "Hey guy, listen up, am not one of the girls you go out to tempt making them feel you're the one meant for them ."-already i knew my one... And then am seeing a palm stretched out in front of me and he's like "Hy damsel, I will like to be your friend, am Michael by the way " oh boom!!! That where the friendship line was drawn. When it comes to making new friends, am number one as once as it is not leading to any relationship. I knew what Michael wanted and damn it, I wasn't giving him a straight face either.
Two months down the line, he's already asking me out...you know what I hate in guys, they rush things and that where my spiritual to physical hatred for Mike grew. ..he wanted me, but It wasn't the same for me. I needed someone else who was not showing himself to me... Probably dead somewhere which I silently prayed wasn't.
Being fed up with Mike promises of heaven on earth, I asked him to take me somewhere nice and he immediately did without any objections... Honestly, I just wanted fresh air with a chilled drink that evening. After our served dinner with plenty of talks and laughter, Mike went all dramatic again. He held my soft palms, went down on his knees and asked me to marry him... It was really surprising and stupid to me. He knew I wasn't ready to marry him that's why he did it in public so I won't have the guts to turn him down. Seriously, you guys get mind... "No, Mike I said no, this can't work between us. You don't have to force it " I said with pity on my face -honestly I did .
But what I failed to realize was that Mike wouldn't give up easily. He slide the ring into my third finger without any hesitation with the watching crowd staring, clapping, smiling and some even whispering... They thought I said yes, but no I can't, I won't. I am also a crazy girl, you don't force me into so I don't want, I quietly removed the ring, drop it on the table, picked up my handbag and walked away all to the eyes of the crowd and a kneeling crying Michael.
My head was in a shabby mess as I walked. I held my chest before my heart busted out. "I made a silly mistake, run back and accept the ring was all I could hear my head say to me "Then I remembered the words of my pastor in one of his sermon, "fall in love with your heart, reason with your head " which gave me the boldness to walk away with grace from a chattering crowd. I could hear the names calling, hissing, slapping with words and my steps increased faster than normal, I ran.
I ran as fast as my legs could carry me. I felt broken, weak. No matter how I tried to stay strong as the tears filled my eyes, I cried -i am human now, and all I could feel was pain like a part of me needed comfort. And so I ran, only to barge into some set of friends who were coming to have fun in the island -i guess
I couldn't say sorry. The simple apologetic word refusing coming out. If I had opened my mouth to say anything, I would have cried like a baby. I just quietly picked my handbag from the floor and began the art of running again, this time the tears were overflowing. "young woman, don't you have a bit of conscience "I heard one of the guest say. My head exploded. The voice kept echoing in my head -repetition in folds. It was similar to my memories. "you have to turn Beatrice, Just turn "my head kept saying to me. I stopped dead in my track. I heard his footsteps, he was walking toward me. He touched me and turned me over to face him. The tears were still overflowing. "it shouldn't be him, no, it shouldn't be him "this time my heart was talking... My heart tends to talk when everything is in shambles. He lifted my face to his, his eyes staring into my watering eyes... Am sure my makeup was something else and then he hugged me tightly. We remained in that position, I just kept shedding tears. It was him... Victor

Anticipate chapter two tomorrow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42