Missing pieces : chapter four

in #adsactly6 years ago

It has been three days since Victor told me about his ex and I was eager to meet the girl who captured his heart before I did -now I knew I wasn't his first love although he was mine.

Victor and I arrived at Skypark superman at exactly 4pm, the exact time they have fixed when she called him earlier this morning. I was surprised they were even communicating without my knowledge. When I asked him how it happened, all he could say was "she got my number from a staff and I am not a cheat so stop feeling insecure. " This was the first time Victor had raised his voice on me and complained about my behavior and hadn't stopped complaining until we stepped out of the car -our first disagreement all because of Anita.

"what is her problem with my husband? " "why does she want to see him at four this evening? " I pondered silently as my eyes won't stop staring at the magnificent stockings of the supermarket.
I watched Victor talk to the salesgirl in an unusual manner as they smiled while she led us to madam office ...like he was kind of a way too forward.
Come in " The feminine voice told us... Sure it was Anita. I kept watching my husband as we took different seats opposite to hers. They kept exchanging glances and smiles that sent various messages into my thick skull. I had to break the silence with a fake cough.
"I am Victor wife" I told her trying to clear any thoughts she might have been planning in her head . "am sorry about your misfortune and please accept my condolences. "
"that's not really important " she tried pushing the topic. "don't worry, it's all about timing. Right now, am rehabilitating myself and am feeling like a woman again."
Rehabilitation!" "like seriously ?" " can you believe that? " I was so confused. "I thought that... "
"Anyway, " she cut in, "am so happy for you and Victor. I had always wanted the best for him. When we two broke up years back, he cried all the way through to his final examinations. I was really scared for him. I thought I made a mistake but I didn't. You make him happy and imagine you are better wife than me. "

We all laughed in unison. I believed her. She gave me no cause not to. I could see the truth in her eyes that she wasn't after my husband...it was all in my head.

"you know why I have bee smiling and giving her all those stares?" Victor asked me staring into my face. "I knew you were watching. I told her way back then that when I find true love, I won't stop smiling until she feels so jealous. "
"and finally I am, I'm so jealous of you two " Anita said smiling .

I felt on top of the world. For my man to make another woman so jealous of me. We talked and laughed eating the served snacks and drinks. Finally , Victor handed over the contract to Anita, the reason they agreed to meet by 4pm.

After our first meeting, Anita became a friend to me. She visited me sometimes in the hospital for checkups and in exchange asked me to patronize her supermarket which I did.
Whenever she visited the hospital, she will ask of how well my marriage with Victor is, and of course I told her the truth : we had no problems of any kind, just praying for kids soon to run around the house and keep it lively.

And this evening, Victor and I sat in the dining, eating and sharing circumstances of the day. Then wearing the most tender of looks, Victor told me, "we almost had our first quarrel days back but thanks to us, we didn't let it happen. " I felt like crying. All I could muster was, "I really missed your touch " and I got more than I bargained for. Not only did Victor kissed me but we had a good time on bed. We yearn for it, although work had occupied us but right now, we were already one.

The next day was the biggest day of my life. I had gone to the popular Itam market to purchase some foodstuffs and a new set of bed sheets to change the atmosphere of the bedroom to surprise my husband. My phone kept ringing and ringing -a call from my younger sister. Her calls were annoying but it kept reminding me of our memories -how we used to sleep on the floor when we had nothing. I finally picked the call and the next statement I could hear was, "I've seen you, am coming. "

I was shocked to see Divine standing in front of me. "what is it? , why are you shivering? How did you find me? "
"sister, all these questions doesn't need answers right now. Mammy is very sick and you need to come home. "
"But that would have taken just one phone call instead of a journey, this doesn't make sense " I shouted as a result of the noisy crowd.
"sister, you know papa, he asked me to bring you home, you just have to do as you are told. He doesn't understand the global age. "

We ran all the way to the car and I drove to the house. I took my clothes and other essentials I needed, drop a note for Victor on the dining table... The easiest place to find a pin and left for the village with Divine.

Mammy was very sick as Divine reported and this extended my stay in the village. For days, Victor and I kept communicating on phone, giving him the updates of mama's health. A week later, mammy finally left us and our family house was filled with tears. People I knew and didn't know strolled into our compound, all with sympathetic faces, rendering their farewell to mammy. I awaited Victor arrival at the compound but he didn't show up. I started feeling scared. I have never left Victor alone for that long.

Ko-ko-ko! A knock on my bedroom door cut me short from changing into the family attire. I was already tired and all I needed was a good sleep with Victor by my side. I opened the door and to my greatest surprise, it was my best friend -Dina.
I just couldn't help myself but give her a deserving hug... The part where girls act like mad people, if you know, you know.

"you didn't look for me "I queried. "How long has it been since high school? "
We laughed in amazement seeing how much we have grown and changed in years. "I have been in town, staying with your husband and awaiting your return"
"In my house? " I pulled away in shock. "And Victor didn't tell me? " I asked Surprisingly.

" I told him not to, I wanted to get the feeling of happiness from you all these years. And you finally married Victor, your crush, our husband...I can't still believe this. " we laughed so audibly.

"am so sorry about the death of mammy, our mama." Dina told me making me to start crying. "she really tried for us, taking me as her own when my mother died. Thank God I arrived in town else I won't have forgiven myself if I had missed her burial. "

We hugged for a brief moment allowing the tears to flow freely. After we disengaged, Dina finally said, "Victor is outside, he's paying his respect to the elders."
I wanted to break into a run but I held myself . I tiptoed and watched him discussed with them. But Victor eyes capable of wandering off in any direction met with mine at the windows. I hurriedly closed it and Dina and I started laughing.

"You finally married him, so stop staring like someone gonna snatch him. You were not interested in those fortune guys that could have lifted us to grace. "Anita said.
"And you that wouldn't stop to flirt with him back then when I told you I liked him "I reminded her.
"Only to make you jealous " we chorused...her popular quote.

Victor and I shared a little of the evening under the tree. This reminded me of our first meeting in the island. " I was afraid you wouldn't come" I mentioned to him.
Victor chuckled. "you always fear, Beatrice, but I won't let them happen. I have to be here to counsel you on how best to start living without mammy anymore, so I had to come. "

I stared into the environment . So what am I going to do now? I whispered.
"Am here for you my dear " Victor said holding me by the shoulders. "I am your amazing mother now. " I laughed hysterically... Yeah, I needed that laugh.

Divine cane over to our Shade and announced that papa was looking for Victor. Their glances weren't friendly and I could tell something was wrong by looking at my baby sister face -well, I would ask later, right now everyone is sad because of mammy death and this could be a reason here too. They left with Divine walking faster and leaving Victor with his shadow.

I felt someone covered my eyes and I made the right guess -Dina. We sat together right under the same shade and gossiping our lives. "So you finally working for the district, miss policewoman? "I asked

"yes, and am enjoying the work. I have been transferred to town and I will be resuming next week. Am looking for a place to stay. Luckily, I found our husband and he surprised me that he got married to my best friend" Dina snapped.

"This one that you are sharing husband with me? "
"can't I? "
"very soon we will share children "
"I bet so "

Mammy was laid to rest two days later, which fell on a rainy Saturday admist tears. Papa, Divine, Dina and I were the only family mammy left behind including my husband. That night was really sleepy . I slept in Victor arms. That was my first time of losing someone dear.

Anticipate chapter 5

Sort:  

Congratulations @abasbonbon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @abasbonbon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44