Hello, Steemit community!

in #adoption6 years ago

Hello! I was introduced to Steemit by my friend xqcai (Xaioqing.) I find Steemit to be very interesing! I have a kind of a different background. After a long career as a software engineer in Silicon Valley, my husband and I adopted three children, all girls and all born in China. The first, Erika, was an 11-month-old baby when we adopted her.. When Erika was three, we adopted her older sister Katherine, who was eleven years old. When Erika was four, we adopted another older sister for her -- Hannah -- who was also coincidentally eleven years old at adoption. Here we are in the summer of 2012:

me and girls.jpg

During that time, I worked a great deal in the girls' classrooms as a volunteer, and discovered that I enjoyed working with kids, so I went back to school and got my teaching credential. I have now been teaching for 13 years.

I am interested in equity in the classroom, and what that looks like for all children.

I am also interested in teachers' rights and safety, and have some concerns related to those issues.

As a two-time cancer survivor, I would like to be here to support others who are fighting cancer.

My dog is the apple of my eye and I would love to talk dogs. Here we are the day I adopted her in October 2016 from Animal Rescue Foundation (ARF) in Walnut Creek, California.

Ginger.jpg

And I am interested in both landlording issues (I have some rental properties) and also in living an alternative lifestyle as a full-time RVer, which I hope to be in the future. Here are my husband and me with our motorhome:

1st day.jpg

It is nice to meet all of you here!

Claire

Sort:  

Congratulations @clairependleton1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @clairependleton1! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @clairependleton1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66228.07
ETH 3559.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01