Trying to do my part to help adoption / a call for action

in #adoption6 years ago (edited)

Hey STEEM community!

I just wanted to tell you my story about how I went from “yea bitcoin sure… what’s that again?” to a 100% crypto lover. In fact me and a friend of mine have just recently opened our t-shirt shop that is fully committed to crypto. But hold on, let me start from the beginning.

I stumbled upon Bitcoin back in 2014 and I liked the whole idea of a digital currency right away. I did not inform myself that much about it back then though. I still decided to buy some Bitcoin, about 0.3 BTC when it was sitting at about 300$ per BTC. It was just a minor investment since I didn’t have much money to invest to begin with because I was studying.
During that time I was doing my university degree which was about the world wide web, business and related technologies. So a digital currency and Blockchain was related to my field of study. I remember that in a few subjects we had to give a presentation about a topic of our choice and I ended up talking about Bitcoin for a lot of those presentations. I tried to convince people that this is a huge niche that everyone should try to get into.

Nobody really grabbed on to my love for Bitcoin back then and I didn’t have the money nor was it the right time for me to open a business myself. I was just about to finish my degree and needed some money that I can actually buy stuff with easily.
So my interest faded away...

Fast forward about 3 years. It is summer 2017, I am working as Freelance Web Developer. I hear about Bitcoin and other crypto currencies over and over again. I hear about the Bitcoin price predictions and do some basic research about Ethereum and Bitcoin. I ended up investing into Ethereum and Bitcoin yet again.

I do more research and fall in love with crypto all over again. I asked crypto on a date and we end up getting married and now we have 2 kids. Kidding. It seems the more research I put into the topic, the more I get to know about it, the more I want to support it. I make some little investments into Bitcoin nearly every month, because I am convinced more and more of it.

In November 2017 I finally have enough time and decide to learn about Blockchain itself, research other projects etc. I end up investing into like 20 different projects. December 2018 I started day trading. And then January comes and BOOOOOOOOOM, the crash. I cried. No I didn’t. Yes I did. A lot.

I went on a 2 weeks vacation with a friend of mine who shares my crypto addiction. We discussed the whole topic a lot and we were putting some thoughts into what we can do to help crypto to rise. We know that adoption is the biggest problem to be tackled right now.

**There are many ways to increase adoption. For us, one of them is to be that trigger for people, that makes them research the topic and see how amazing it all is. ** Like it was for me – in 2017 some random news about bitcoin or simply seeing the logo – turned me into a crypto addict. This is what we wanted to do with our shirts.

2 months later we proudly opened our online t-shirt store. We put a lot of effort into choosing our producers to get the best possible quality for our clients. We didn’t want to support those cheap t-shirts where the people making them don’t get a fair pay. So our t-shirts are fair trade, 100% organic and printed by hand in Austria.

Our shop is currently limited to German and so we currently only ship in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The address is cryptoonstuff.com. We are trying our best to help adoption in those regions this way. Of course we accept crypto for payments (currently BTC, LTC, BCH, DASH, ETH, NEO, STEEM, XMR and XVG).
We also have a STEEM Shirt by the way.
STEEM CORE LOGO T-Shirt Weiß by cryptoonstuff.com.png

Anyhow let me get back on topic: crypto and blockchain technology is going to empower the little man. This is a modern revolution, the revolution of the 21st century. Everyone that understands the possibilities behind it will hopefully try to support it. Power to the people.

TL;DR

This is a call for action to wear crypto, to put a sticker on your car, tell your friends about it, basically to do anything that helps adoption. Be an active part of the revolution. I hope this inspired at least some of you guys to do more to be that trigger that makes people research the topic.

Thank you for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57