Time to get back into some sort of posting schedule

in #admin7 years ago

For the past few weeks I've noticed my inability to consistently get a daily post done, and as a result of this I've made the decision that daily posting isn't something I can do long term, especially not when I'm picking up some additional things in my life.

Since starting daily posts back in November, I've had a few skipped days, but I've picked up:

  • a client that I cook food for once or twice a week
  • gotten engaged
  • found out that we're pregnant
  • restarted studying with a new provider picking up where Careers Australia left off with their collapse
  • started the process of volunteering with OzHarvest, partly as the required practical work for my course and partly because I've always wanted to help them out somehow
  • am in the process of volunteering at Two Wolves Community Cantina in Chippendale
  • organised a Sydney meetup
  • participated in the World's Greatest Shave (Sponsor me here) for the Leukaemia Foundatioon
  • driven to Adelaide and back to Sydney for Christmas
  • driven to Adelaide to look after my mum's house (current location)

So what's the plan?

Going forward from here, I'm looking at a 3-4 times a week posting schedule, which may also include random additional things when I feel like it, but for now I'm thinking I'll do Monday, Wednesday and Friday posts.
Friday being most likely board gaming, since that happens on Thursday.
Monday is likely to be Dining Out mostly, as it follows the weekend as well as gaming, which are the main times I get to eat somewhere.
Wednesday I'm hoping to have more regular cooking related posts, but if not I have a few other ideas on what I can write about.

Hopefully you all stick around and can interact as much or more in the comments as you have been.


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Congrats for becoming a proud dad soon. You have been busy and and doing a lot of good for the community. Yes posting regularly will help to get consistency and I am sure there will be plenty of photos and sharing pre and post baby arrival.
@jackpot

You're going to have a pretty hard time getting rid of me ;D

Seems like a much more managable posting schedule with all the other stuff you've picked up! Also keep in mind that you may need to drop back to once or twice a week when baby arrives, at least for the first 3-6 months :)

goatsig

I imagine after baby arrives there will be shorter posts, and probably some about how I'm doing as a stay at home dad

Most fall into the trap of trying to be a daily or more posters. Often when you lack a purpose you struggle with things. Those that daily post suffer a lot from burn it. It’s quite draining from a creative side of things to have to come up with content daily.

I’m glad you have not only decided to pick extra number but also what you indeed to do on those days. I think 3 a week Is a realistic goal for people.

Blogs often times get lost in peoples feeds they are just following to meany. However if they build the happen of every Monday coming by to check up for one post of your they enjoy the most that is a great thing to have going.

I have a few people that come and go. They often are looking for a specific type of content from me. I’m a bit more hard to follow since I can just go off for weeks on end with one topic and then be another the following week.

Something like Steemit is very long term so checking these things off can help you go a long way: creating habits, having purpose, and making a schedule that is not over doing is best way to go about it. Some of the medium range earners out there got to the way they are by posting during the low times on Steemit; while, everyone else was taking a “break” because things where not worth there time.

Yeah, I'm trying to work on the excess of things on my feed and am considering going through my follows and reducing the numbers so that it's a bit more manageable.

Very aware of steemit being a long term thing, and am quite happy to have had the gains I've seen already. Many saying the price currently is low which amuses me since the first 3 months I was here for it was around $1. Sure it's low compared to the value since November, but compared to mid year last year, it's still up more than 100%.

I'm also likely to go off and do different things for a while, at least with 1 of my streams. I'm not likely to get to board gaming for the next month and a half, so it's likely I'll catch up with that stream, and Mum's got a full freezer of food for me, so cooking will be something that while I want to, I may not be able to...

Likewise with dining out, while I'd like to, it might not happen very often while I'm here in Adelaide, and I've only got a few things on that waiting list, but at least a few weeks worth. It might be that when I get back to Sydney I'll be out of things in that stream's waiting list.

I'm not going anywhere and will still be writing, and certainly checking my comments/replies/mentions and replying to them between posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83