Are You or Someone You Know One of The 10 Million Who are Unaware They Have ADHD?

in #adhd6 years ago


Right at this moment, 8-10 million adults are struggling with jobs, college, relationships, etc. It's adversely affecting their lives, and keeping them from reaching their full potential. They don't realize that they have ADHD.

According to Russell A. Barkley, Ph.D., ADHD is one of the most treatable psychiatric conditions in medicine. The treatments have proven to be very effective. In some cases, lives are completely turned around for the better. The problem is: How does one get diagnosed with something they aren't even aware they have?

Sometimes a friend or relative recognizes ADHD in them. Other times, the person themselves seek help because their life seems to be falling apart and they don't know why. I finally realized I had ADHD via a book. At age 53 I read Dr. Hallowell's book Driven to Distraction. The stories of those who had struggled with ADHD sounded all too familiar. I only wish I had heard stories like those earlier in life. It was like someone gave me a special mirror that revealed how ADHD had affected my life.

Many of their lives were dramatically turned around once they were diagnosed. Some who struggled to make a living became CEOs of major corporations, many failing in college started excelling. Through their stories, I discovered that I too had ADHD. It was like being handed the owners manual to my brain. Now I had a clear path to managing my brain and having a better life. I had hope that things could be better.

There can't be enough books, films, Youtube channels, graphic novels, infographics, etc. educating people about ADHD. I believe together we will reach all those 10 million eventually. Can you imagine the benefits to society when they are living out their full potential?

Sort:  

It's hard to overstate what a difference it makes to have that awareness. My wife realized it first because I started working from home. She suggested I read up on it. Almost overnight, I've become aware of the problematic behaviors that are holding me back. I had failed to see it in myself sooner because my issues didn't match up with my limited understanding of the disorder. I had only a vague awareness of them before because I was frustrated with myself and in denial. Now I'm learning what to look out for and how to improve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98