You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today it's been 6.5 years since I had a drink of alcohol.

in #addiction6 years ago

Glad to hear of your success! I decided to quit drinking for a little while myself starting in May of this year, so I'm almost at the 5 month mark. Being a 40 year old stay at home dad of two small children, I need every ounce of mental and physical energy I can muster. I was just dragging ass by the end of the day most days, and lots of other lifestyle changes didn't seem to be enough, so I figured the alcohol was something that had to go. My health has vastly improved, I have more energy, I'm more productive with my time (motivation is easier to come by), I'm nicer to the people I love and I'm happier overall than I was as a regular drinker. I'll probably go back to occasional social drinking at some point, maybe one or two on rare occasion, but I don't know if I'll ever be the regular drinker I was before. I didn't realize what I was missing out on before and it seems like it would cost me too much to go back to it.

Sort:  

Awesome, glad it makes you feel better. It amazes me that alcohol is seen as a harmless drug by most people. I was a very heavy drinker and eventually I also used other things to be able to keep drinking even more and even longer. I drank at least 80 drinks a week, I really had to stop. Much happier and healthier now, and I've been able to build my own business and work full time doing something I love, which I never would have been able to do drunk and hungover all the time! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78