"THIS PHONE FEELING LIKE A TUMOR IN MY POCKET, I'MA GET UP ON THE ROOF AND DROP IT."

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

"This phone feeling like a tumor in my pocket, I'ma get up on the roof and drop it.", is what Norwegian rapper Ivan Ave speaks out on his single The Circle. The thing with phone usage is that not many people are conscious about how much it effects them and their lives. I feel that it effects mine, so I'm going to take action. Putting my phone on airplane mode now and then, putting it off completely, meditate, you name it, I'm going to figure this thing out. It really feels like a tumor and not even in my pocket but in my freaking hand.

When I look back on how it evolved I remember getting a Nokia 3210 mobile phone when I was around 12 years old back in 1999. Back then the phone was all about one thing, playing the game Snake. Great phone by the way. After almost 20 years the addiction is real. We can't live without it and it is in a way an extension of our lives. What we do will be posted on Facebook for all to see. Quick, post another selfie on Instagram. Likes, likes, likes. Give me more likes.

And why? I'm not sure to be honest. I've thought about it a lot. A friend of mine doesn't even have social media and he is the same age as I am. Where did it go wrong for me? Why do I have the urge to check my phone every 5 minutes? I'm really thinking about longer stops. Maybe a 24 hour stop. Just really be with myself for a bit. I wonder how it will clear my mind over time. Not being into that other dimension and getting that fog out of my brain.

The biggest issue with this digital phone lifestyle is all the data you get pumped into your brain every day. Not only through your phone, but also all the other screens you look at. I might even try a week without music one day. Just to try, see how it feels when things are quiet and peaceful. I already ditched Facebook a couple of years ago. And Snapchat wasn't anything I enjoyed either. But I'm still on a lot of other social media and I'm pretty sure I will have to cut down on those in the future as well. It's just not necessary at all.

SOCIAL MEDIA
YOUTUBE: https://goo.gl/CtR1FF
STEEMIT: https://goo.gl/rerdVT
DTUBE: https://goo.gl/VSsHAX
INSTAGRAM (puudthevegan): https://goo.gl/bvtih5
INSTRAGAM (alchemicalgoldquotes): https://goo.gl/PEKvg5
TUMBLR: https://goo.gl/uhnqr9

DONATIONS
BTC Wallet: 16SqnCooCzK2pbeisBmhDG1LL8LnSgPTzR
ETH Wallet: 0x07dD5b8895bCc8B3797F5371952234d2b2CE261c
LTC Wallet: LTgBM8aqQJyq8UjZbXF5XZaXkQ28NPCvaG
DOGE Wallet: D7Hnpk5eRxpVVw1rEdBF7PUvQwsVTK9tzj

Sort:  

Congratulations @puud! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @puud! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56647.53
ETH 2372.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26