You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We Are All Addicts

in #addiction7 years ago

Mass hysteria and cultural revolution are very hard to tell apart, and who am I to judge the difference? I do, though, don't worry 8-).

BTW there are so many social-media-addicted people riding bicycles in traffic in The Netherlands, while completely absorbed by what's on their little screens, that we are seeing some evolution in action. <evil grin>

Sort:  

But... do you?

BTW there are so many social-media-addicted people riding bicycles in traffic in The Netherlands, while completely absorbed by what's on their little screens, that we are seeing some evolution in action.

wait until we get them sculpted on our retinas.

When I felt addictions or compulsive behaviour or every-day things were becoming a drag I used to go to a forest for a week or two and live off the land. I only brought clothes and a knife. You find out really quickly what you personal addictions are that way.

Compulsive behaviour can be kept when it is useful, like never forgetting your keys or closing the front door properly, and unlearned when it bothers you.

All in all, I don't mind addictions much, as long as they don't mess with my quality of life. Some addictions seem to enhance that, even. "Addictive expectations", like bricks usually falling downwards and walking usually moving you forwards, those you can't do without, or you would have to rethink everything every time. The The World of Null-A by A. E. van Vogt, an old SF-novel, says some interesting things about that.

I only brought clothes and a knife. You find out really quickly what you personal addictions are that way.

Reminds me my time in the army. I used to live off snakes and mushrooms at one point. Really takes our mind away from everything (even army stuff).

The The World of Null-A by A. E. van Vogt, an old SF-novel, says some interesting things about that.

another one added on my reading list

another one added on my reading list

Strangely, the "quotes" under the chapter headings in the edition I have tell more about Null-A thinking than the novel itself, if I remember correctly. A quick scan of those is fun.

will definitely check them out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40