You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Mistakes We Make When Trying to Master Addiction

in #addiction8 years ago

Reason 4, counting days of sobriety means that there is a goal to reached at some later date, this often leads to a relapse of addiction. When ever I hear that someone has began using again it was usually accompanied by mentions of how long the person was clean for. The longer the person was clean the more tragic the relapse seemed to be. This could be an indication of some sort of unconscious drama or head-game being played out by the community.

Sort:  

Yes I feel that too. I mean if we have really quit, then I think we should leave it all behind. But something more important, I think we should feel like we have failed if we re-lapse. Its seems counter-intuitive, or that we are setting ourselves up for failure, but I really think creating a habit of trying again if we fail is the stronger way to go, even if its the longer way :)

thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52