Life of a recovering addict

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

Life is already hard without adding extra problems. My life got so hard to the point I turned to meth to make my days better. It did for a little while. By the time you come back to reality. Life is harder than before you started. I did this drug for a year. I have been sober for a little over a year. This drug took my family, my children, my soul, it took everything from me.

But who was to blame? The drug? No I could only blame myself. I made a choice to do this. I made a choice to stay in this life for a year. When I finally came back to reality. I was on pti. My parents didn't want to speak to me. I couldn't see my children. I had no one.

As a part of pti they sent me to impatient rehab. This is where my road to recovery begins. I went to classes for two months. Finally moved back in with my parents and my children. Now I have my children full time. I have worked hard to be sober. I continue to work everyday. I have to live everyday with it in the back of my head. It's like a little voice telling me "you miss it, the high."

Not everybody has the same road some people can quit like there was never anything wrong. I wish it was that easy for me. The only thing to keep me sober is my boys. Every time I look at them I'm reminded how far I have come, how much they need me. For them I will NEVER give in to drugs! IMG_20170711_150353_723.jpg

Sort:  

Nice...

Sounds like you done very well, good on you. And you still have a beautiful smile. Keep on going its a hard road but your family are there. Wish you all the best and sending you some reiki energy :)

Sounds like you are self enpowered now. Great course correction! Keep it up!

Congratulations @momlife2012! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47