Being a addict isn't a choice

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20170919-234906~2.png

Okay so I watched this video. This women was expressing how she doesn't believe that being a addict is a choice and I agree 100%. You choose to do the drug yes, But you don't choose to be addicted to said drug.

I had people ask me "why don't you just stop?" When I was in current addiction. Okay first of all if I could have just stopped doing drugs don't you think I would have? It takes tremendous will power to recover from a addiction.

Yes, I took the risk of becoming a addict by doing the drug. But I didn't wake up one day and say "I'm gonna be a addict". Some of you took a risk when you say hit a cigarette, or took a pill when you where in collage. Being a addict depends on the person. There is always something deeper than just being a addict.

It could be you had a terrible car accident that you never dealt with emotionally, or it could be you were abused. The drugs or alcohol or whatever it may be takes the pain and reality of what happened away.

I can't stand people that believe somebody chose to be a addict. They chose to do the drug, they didn't choose to be addicted to it! Also getting over a addiction can be harder for some people than others. I wanna hear your thoughts on addiction.

Post in the comments what you think!

I GOT THIS PHOTO FROM GOOGLE! I DO NOT OWN IT!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47