You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proper Enabling

in #addiction8 years ago (edited)

This is one of the most complicated illnesses to deal with. Opiate addiction is a lifelong struggle. And, it is an epidemic. It would be great if there was a miracle cure. It's big business, so I don't think there will be a miracle cure any time soon.

I really enjoyed your post.

Sort:  

Yup agreed, you obviously have at least SOME experience with its effects on people. It's a lifelong struggle I think but also depending on how we deal with it. I think the brain will always have a weakness but if recovery is slow, stable, and steady enough I think that the mind can get strong again. One a lifestyle is built away from the addiction culture I think "relapsing" becomes a worry of the past (other than keeping on developing the good direction).

It's CERTAINLY complex thought, and to me that means it requires social cooperation of multiple people, groups, and institutions and also progress from many different angles.

Thx for the comment!

You're welcome. I don't have personal experience except for a lot of friends that fell into addiction. It's sad. It's a whole different lifestyle. Get up in the morning..... figure out how to get money to get high......then get high...... then nod out. It's a sad existence.

Yes I mean that kind of personal experience. That you have at least observed it. It seems to me, with my experiences which is also primarily observation of others, and especially for example with opiates, one needs to get way from the drug, even for just withdrawal/detox, before the brain can come into the type of order where rational discussion and thinking is helpful.

So the first difficulty is getting to detox etc. For my friend, and I am sure for many others, this is sort of useless and worthless unless there is a treatment/getaway on the other side of detox so that the person can put a barrier in between themselves and the cycle.

From there, having the short-term critical separation taken care of, logic can come into play and a new set of core beliefs and resolution of past experiences can happen and take place, but only over time.

Then long lasting change I think is a combination of positive mental and real world barriers as will as success that make way for new freedoms.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55