Recovering Ice Cream Addict

in #addiction7 years ago

IMG_0459.JPG

Don't think being mostly vegan demonstrates enough will to not eat any junk food, even one of the most blatant 'bad for you' comforting foods with around 50% fat we label as "iced cream".

During one month this year this is part of how much I ate, usually late at night, after an already full day's worth of calories ingested. Keep in mind each is about 800 calories.IMG_0460.JPG

I would eat the whole pint in a night, and some nights even two of them. Like many processed foods I eat, I only enjoy it during the ingestation. Immediately on completion there's slight feelings of regret (though I've overcame a lot of that recently) and only bad symptoms.

The day after I usually have to sleep in more, possible constipation, higher body heat and sweat, sometimes nasal congestion and a thirst to drink more water to balance and clear out the heavy oil. Oil is not a natural food to eat but its probably the main ingredient in ice cream. These were gourmet vegan ice creams and it also cost my pocketbook.

I have been researching nutrition for at least 5 years and experimenting on different changes and restriction for my body, so I know the bad effects I mentioned are real are caused by heavy fat/oil food like ice cream which is a large chunk of oil all at once the way I was doing it.

Besides ice cream, I was a binge eater at dinnertime often just a few months ago for whatever food. This is after I cured the need for "3 meals a day" which general Americans still stick to, and took up intermittent fasting. I have realized the body does not need so many calories we're prescribed (especially not from processed junk that doesn't help us anyway!) so eating these pints were 100% just for pleasure. I believe I got zero benefit health-wise (besides mental satisfaction) from them.

Though I've slowly cured my bingeing, especially on ice cream, when it comes around I'm always tempted. When my family had it in the freezer and I was there I thought about eating a lot. When we all had an ice cream day we had a near half gallon (1.5 quarts) each, see the article picture at top for size, I nearly had the whole thing in one night but I caught myself. I ate half, put it back in the freezer, but stayed up later and thought about it a few times until I pulled it out to eat more, the taste wasn't as good and I started with a bite, got distracted with things and realized just the one bite was drying out my mouth and making it quite oily. So I had a few more and just let the rest melt overnight because it's hot here in the summer! Had I eaten the whole thing that would have been 1,440 extra calories that I didn't need!

Yes I know the large bin of ice cream wasn't vegan... I'm still working on that as well. Poor slave cows. And I say that with all seriousness

Sort:  

If it weren't - 40 I'd probably go indulge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66625.38
ETH 3619.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89