Alcoholism: Day 96 Of Sobriety-Contemplating A New Phase In Life

in #addiction7 years ago


Today I am contemplating a new phase in life.
I'm over three months into my sobriety and the techniques to alleviate PTSD symptoms that I have been employing seem to be working.

Now, I feel the need to try and re-enter society.

I love to spend time with the children and teach them. But we have one BIG PROBLEM in our household. I haven't worked in years and we are broke. I mean super broke.


Source

The small Veterans Affairs compensation I receive from a 70% rating just doesn't cut it. Sure, I could try to fight the system and plead my case, but honestly, it's not a fight I want to take on.

I was already part of the group of Veterans who were purposefully misdiagnosed for the VA to save money and I've already fought the bureaucracy just to get here. Another round of that and you may see me on the Headline News for losing my mind.


We've made it this far due to very strict budgeting. Hell, even with drinking I had a budget(albeit a significant one). Making great decisions on used vehicles at low prices, cooking at home, and a house payment lower than a car note has helped our finances tremendously.

Due to budgeting, I know we live better than people with twice our yearly income. That's not the point.

I know we can do better.


Source

The two largest setbacks I am still having in relation to PTSD are crowds and driving. These are obviously pretty large issues when it relates to employment. How are you supposed to work if you can't get there? And once there, you need to be able to work around people; right?

Lately, I have been studying different ways to work from home. One option that entices me is teaching from home via the internet.

Yes, I have a B.S. in Accounting. I like accounting and I mainly acquired that specific degree to prove to myself that I could do it. But I don't love Accounting.

Teaching and writing are two things I really love to do. If I could get my head wrapped around one subject in writing, I could possibly do better in that field. That's not how my brain works.


Source

If you read this blog on a regular basis, you know I am going to write about what subject I feel like writing about on any given day. My followers never know what they are going to get from this blog.

It may make the blog more interesting or it may frustrate the hell out of people.

I don't really know.

But when it comes to blogging there is no point in doing it, if I don't like what I am writing about.

Blogging will more than likely continue to be a side project and the odds of successful mainstream writing without focusing on a particular subject matter will more than likely be non-existent. I'm ok with that.


Teaching is what I originally started going to school for years ago. I noticed the direction of the public education system and I had no desire to be apart of it. It's full of bureaucracy and mandated testing. That is not a system I want to be a part of.

I have been looking into online teaching. Specifically, teaching English to students of Asian descent. I meet the minimum qualifications of most sites I look at.

It would help with the traveling to work issue, would solve the being around large crowds issue, and it would be doing something that I enjoy; helping others. In this case specifically helping others to learn the English language.

My Questions to the community are:

  • Do any of you have any specific experience in the field of teaching online?
  • What companies did you use to find employment?
  • Are there any online teaching companies you don't recommend?
  • What are the biggest positives and negatives of this field?

So, there it is. Looking to get back to work. There are other options I am currently looking into, but the field of online teaching is one that really peaks my interest.Thank you in advance for any feedback received.

Top Picture Source

Sort:  

I feel you. It's actually my 3 month milestone of sobriety from alcohol. I also have kids and I'm doing this for them as well as myself. Keep on rolling through man.

Congratulations on your sobriety. It's not an easy road and I know you've had to fight through some things. I love reading that you are putting your kids first. If we build strong families, we build strong communities. I will keep rolling and you do the same!

While I was reading this post couple of ideas crossed my mind.
I don't know if it would be your cup of tea, but here it is...

1) Udemy - it's a site where you can post/create all sorts of courses. As far as I know, it's possible to become one of the instructors there for free and create your own course.
Although most of the courses are some kind of video courses, there are some others too that are not (e.g. created as PowerPoint presentations or else).
However, if you already didn't come across that site, you may see how others are doing it there, as there are some free to take courses as well.
Maybe you can start with the following one - Online Course Creation - just to take a look.

2) Regarding your wish to teach English. Here is my a bit out-of-box thinking about it. For instance, and although I'm not an Asian descent, personally, I would like to learn English better as it's not my first language.
But, the way I would like to learn it's kinda different.
For example, it would be a huge help for me as here on Steemit, same elsewhere, if someone would proofread my articles before I publish them.
I know I can go to Fiverr or some other site out there where I could order a proofread and case closed.
But what I want is not pure proofread, it's proofread with lessons or teaching why something should be put this way or another. I would like to know and understand that.
I don't know if anyone is doing something like that, but that's something I would be very interested in.

So, that would be my 2 cents answers on your questions. I hope, if nothing else, at least it might give you some new idea.

I know of Udemy, but I have never thought of actually making courses for it! I do like that idea. I like the proofreading idea too. The technical aspects of written grammar is a skill I have been trying to steadily improve upon during my time on Steemit and is something I would like to improve upon more. Thank you for the reply.

Yes, Yesss, YESSS!!! - Your reply made me happy!
Makes me feel that maybe I helped you a bit! 😊

This is a fantastic milestone for you @lexikon082! When there's a will, there's a way!! :))

I remember reading somewhere once that you could be an English tutor on Skype. Did a quick google and came up with these two which may be helpful for you:
http://moneypantry.com/make-money-teaching-english-online/
http://www.lindsaydoeslanguages.com/how-to-teach-on-skype/

Wow, thank you very much for those links.

I have a quite a bit of information to cover in regard to this subject because I have received many tips from fellow Steemians.

Oops hope it was not too much. I'm glad lots of Steemians stepped in to help you out :)) Love this community :))

I would rather have too much than not enough!

Huge congrats on how far you've come!

Thanks @drobinson. One day at a time.

Best way to do it in this life!

Sounds like the ideal solution for your situation! The only suggestion I have is to see if you can contact active teachers for some of the schools and see what they say about it. Oh, and check your local continuing education programs. They usually have small classes, so that might be an option to get started, too.

I agree @ aunt-deb! I do appreciate your suggestion and it's something I want to do. Continuing education...ooh. I like that one. And small class sizes too! Thank you for your suggestions. You are awesome as always.

I've taken a few continuing ed classes and always enjoyed them. I think the biggest class size was for candle-making and we had maybe 12-15 people. It's not unusual for them to LIMIT the class to 15 or so. They may even let you decide how many sessions, how often and where to meet.

I think you'd make an awesome teacher!

No advice on the teaching thing, but I just want to commend you on your progress and strength :) your blog ethic sounds similar to mine haha. I look forward to your future blogs sir.

Thank you for the commendation! I will have to check out your blog to see the random things you post about! I have so many different interests that it's hard to focus on one topic.

What are the techniques you are using to help with PTSD?

awesome and amazing for you @lexikon082 proud of you :D

Thanks @jodipaungkas. You keep up those awesome story posts.

thank you very much. Appreciate it ! @lexikon082

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50