My Hearthstone Video Game Addiction

in #addiction6 years ago

HS Addict.jpg

My Hearthstone Video Game Addiction.

Hello everyone my name is Jack and I am a gamerholic.

Hmm it doesn’t sound quite as bad or life threatening as say an alcoholic or heroin addict maybe but I am pretty sure they are the same tools and vehicles used for the same problem which is not wanting to have to deal with the current state of reality.

For me video games are a great escape, a numbing agent for when I feel stressed or anxious. It helps me find peace momentarily by freeing my mind of difficult thoughts.

This bliss quickly become problematic when it started to affect my lifestyle negatively in terms of my health, finances, career and relationships. This was due to my hyper procrastination. I have always been a terrific procrastinator any way so it was always inevitable that video games would result in a love hate relationship for me.

The mind is curious thing and it continues to fascinate me everyday. It makes me wonder who really is in control. You see there is the me who wants to eat healthily, get things done, stay productive, work on my fitness and there is also the same me that never achieves any of these things sometimes on a daily basis even though I had the purest intention to do so.

If something seems difficult or challenging I automatically resist it and choose something easy and familiar. I do this often on autopilot. Little habits just like logging into a video game on my phone with the intention for playing a short ten minute game can sometimes turn into a 6 hour binge and from doing the math and working out how many hours have been spent over the course of my life time the number look hauntingly terrifying.

Not to say that all time playing games is wasteful. I am not here to bash games I actually love them of course. I first installed Hearthstone around five years ago and before that I was playing League of Legends (which I sometimes still do) and before League was the all time favorite World Warcraft. The games aren’t at fault. It’s my unhealthy relationship to the games that has become the problem.

When faced with something challenging like tackling my career goals or working out I opt to play video games instead. I think one of the excuses I make for myself is that it will all pay off once I go pro. Oh dear, the harsh reality is that in all my time gaming I haven’t even come close to a top tier competitive gaming play. Once again that would be too challenging. It would take a lot of commitment, researching and practice. I was just playing to temporarily escape my life and relax. Not exactly a great premise for building a pro gaming career on.

So what is the answer? How do I knock this disruptive habit and turn it into something that makes me feel good about myself? Something that pays the bills… Helps me with my career goals and even improves me relationship to others?
I WRITE!

Yes today was the first day in a long time that I didn’t find something ‘easier’ to do and log into hearthstone or some other form of procrastination. I replaced my hearthstone habit with something that I consider productive.

I think this is the answer to not just gaming addictions but to all addictions = to replace negative habits with positive ones.

I was lucky enough to live with an awesome life coach recently. He told me that when a client approaches him seeking a method to give something up the first thing he asks them is; “so what do you plan to replace it with?” I think this is wise because time is going to pass indefinitely so we have to make better use of the same time we usually spend on the things that do not serve our greatest vision.

For example it is all to easy to give up a video gaming addiction to begin binge watching Netflix. The two are probably just as counterproductive and although one can now claim the video game addiction has been kicked the problem has neither been resolved.

By replacing negative habits with positive ones we begin to live more positively. ~
Jack Price

(wow did I really just quote myself?!)

If you liked this post then please show your support by giving it an up vote or by me a follow (or both :D). This way you can track my progress and if you don’t hear from me again it safe to say I’m neither at the gym, on a sunny expensive vacation or winning Nobel peace prize.

Yes.

I am probably playing Hearthstone so login to the EU server, befriend jenova7 and come rip me a new one.

So until next time, I hope I keep winning and we both see more and more posts coming this way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50