Week 2 of sobriety ( wish me luck) Hopefully I can beat my old record

in #addiction6 years ago

As a part of my job search, I was forced to quit smoking weed once again. Originally I was sober for over 1 year after smoking for 13, but fell off the wagon in February when I became homeless. Having lost my life saving - roughly $40,000 when I invested everything into the market in mid December 2017, the mounting stress lead me back to my dark place, because it was my only offer of refuge.

For 2 months I went back to smoking daily. I remember the first time, having extreme social anxiety, it was the first good night of sleep I had in over a year. Free of night terrors and freakish dreams, I was actually able to have a peaceful night of sleep. Now being back in the early stages of withdrawal, I am back to all the terrible things that come as a result. Cold sweats, waking up every hour on the hour, racing thoughts and endless life-altering nightmares. There are somethings that are unimaginable, until you go through weed withdrawal and witness them first hand in your dreams.

Being on day 15 I no longer crave weed. Not that I ever did. Most times that I decided to smoke up, I didn't feel that I needed to or I wanted to, I simply did it because I had nothing else to do. Slowly as the weeks progressed, I found myself getting lazier and lazier - though that could have been due to my depression. Nevertheless, in one breath a part of me misses the blissful sleep you can have when you smoke weed. There is nothing like smoking a joint and going straight to bed. But on the other hand, I also miss having a clear state of mind. Weed always seemed to leave me with brain fog and an disrupted speech pattern, but then again I am still having the same problems with my speech, which is probably due to my social anxiety.

Nevertheless, I hope that this time around I stay off weed for good. Though they are legalizing weed 100 percent in my country in the coming months, the adds they play on the radio and the TV every two minutes makes weed sound like it has become a worse drug than when it was illegal. Sadly, as long as the mainstream media continues forward with this philosophy, people who smoke weed will continue to be marginalized and I have no interest in that.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fuckmylife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

good stuff you are doing well - keep it going!!!

Thank you for the kind words :)

Hey there. I'm also on 7 days now of being weed free. I have been consuming for 6 years now and the last 3 years have been on a daily basis. It was so bad for me I had to leave my hometown for a few days to withstand the early withdrawal symptoms.
I would just like you to know that we're on the same journey and that I believe in you. Hold on strong bro. I will pray to my God that you may have strength.
I have gone longer in previous attempts. What stage of withdrawal would you say you are in?

I quit for over 1 year and started again in February and smoked daily for about 6 weeks. I vaped probably 1 gram or so a day. I just couldn't believe that weed was so cheap - you can buy pounds for $1300 or $1400 lol. My withdrawal symptoms are not as bad as when I quit the first time after 6 years of smoking heavily - 12 grams blunts everyday lol. I always try to quit then go on vacation to a place where I cant get weed, it always seems to be the best strategy.

I am still at the point where I am having crazy dreams every night, most nights it still take me hours to sleep. Man I do miss smoking a fatty than going to bed. Hopefully you are successful in your endeavor.
I know my will power is good because I still have a half p in my closet. I don't even look at it.

I remember you mentioning that you had quit before.
I also hope you are successful in your journey.
Not thinking about it and keeping my mind busy seems to be working well for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78