Why I haven't been drinking

in #addiction6 years ago

3915cdab-4198-4359-bd98-5928f05d8660.jpg

Mornings are a period of mental clarity and stillness that gradually jaggs up with the bumble of the day. It's when I think and work the best. Sacrificing the value of a clear morning of reflection and focused work in exchange for simulated enjoyment in the delusion of alcohol the night before is absurd! I cut back on alcohol a year ago and since February I've only drank 4 times. While socializing sober, I began to see patterns in the relationship with alcohol of people around me, morphing in slipped bursts into the repressed versions of themselves and into a deluded self-aggrandized image of reality. Beyond the physical unfitness that follows the opportunity cost of miss-allocated time, I see friends who are emotionally lonely but crutched and held back from doing work of self-betterment by the veil of substances.

I do appreciate the pleasure of an earthly glass of wine and the hedonics of a wicked party, so I think I'll hold on to my sunrises for special or epic occasions.

fa295bd5fc633320155c5dbee8928837.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @flowfactory! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @flowfactory! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64