Kickin' The Habit - 1 Year Clean from Heroin!

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

What a year it's been.


Image Source

I spent the majority of this year in Northern Thailand, right near the golden triangle.

It's still responsible for 10% of the worlds heroin supply.

Additionally, I spent some time in Lisbon, Portugal - as you might know, the Portuguese approach drug use/abuse in a decriminalized fashion.

Basically, it's a free for all when it comes to drugs - which could've been a huge temptation for my monster to come back out.

So you'd think that being a former heroin junkie, I'd let it seduce me and reign supreme over my life once again.


Image Source

I'm happy to share that it didn't. And as of 11 days ago, I broke 1 year clean.

Looking back, there were plenty of rough times and dark periods. Hardships always gave me an excuse to use heroin.

Something changed in me this year, though. I guess I was just tired of throwing everything away, damaging everything along the way.

It's like a switch was flipped that suddenly just halted my cravings, the mindset that I could just skate by and do heroin all day and still build a good life. I was always good at lying to myself.


Image Source

Keeping this short and sweet, I'm proud to say that I'm still clean. If you're struggling with addiction, you're not alone - and it can be beat. Talk to someone, create new, positive habits, learn a new skill, focus on your personal development and growth.

Here's to many more years of time in recovery!

PANDA'S LATEST POSTS:


A Prospector's Paradise - The Digital Gold Miner
Youbit Exchange Files for Bankruptcy After North Korean Cyberattack
On Developing An Unconquerable Mindset (Part I)
Scarcity Versus Abundance

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FREE Crypto & Steemit Email Tips: click the banner!

Coin Panda - Subscribe!

Sort:  

Congratzzz man :) keep moving forward

Congrats on you being clean! Heroin is a killer and the perspective drugs that are associated. It is taking over the world it seems. Spread the word on being clean from everything, it is the best life!

Super proud of you brotha! Keep it up!

From one former addict to another congratulations 🎈🎉. That’s awesome.

That is a milestone to really be proud of. Keep at it! If you ever need to talk, reach out to me.

Thank you so much - it means a lot to me! It was something that had sucked the life out of me for the past 6 years. It feels great to be free of it's grip!

I also appreciate the offer - I know how much it helps to have someone that can listen.

Cheers!

Congratulations!

I'm glad you're kicking the habit. Congrats on your 1 year! Panda on! @ironshield

What a great story, and a great victory for you, @fatpandadesign! I feel so happy for you! It is a significant milestone to say you have passed the one year mark for something so challenging. I'm proud of you!

I've upvoted and resteemed this article. I found the link for it in #unmentionables.
Cheers!
@mitneb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64