So Much to Love

in #addiction7 years ago

Today marks my fourth day alcohol-free.

As per Omar's decision to cut out all processed sugars, this is also day four of no processed sugars.

So what have I noticed?

Inflammation is going down.

I've always struggled with body swelling due to suffering from coeliac disease, and I know that consuming two to three alcoholic beverages a day were of no help. I'm sure the physical changes I'm seeing are a collaboration of both my dietary efforts and my avoidance of sugars and alcohol, but seeing them in the mirror is encouraging.

When I've been gluten-free in the past (without having any contamination accidents), I've seen my collarbones in the mirror. I could see every muscle, every ligament, and the voice box in my throat. I was able to see the muscle I've worked so hard to grow bumping up the skin. My hair was long. My skin was clear.

Lately, with the recent bout of gluten contamination and the abuse of alcohol, I've looked like a swollen version of myself. My skin has erupted in eczema, and my hair has been falling out at an alarming rate. It was so much so that I recently took a pair of children's scissors to it and slowly hacked away until it was short.

But I can see the light at the end of this tunnel.

I took this selfie today, to show the emergence of some collar bones, and also to serve as a solid "before" photo. I tried to avoid sucking in my belly, since I carry a lot of swelling there from intestinal reactions to gluten. I'm excited to share these changes with you as I go along. I'll be including selfies anytime I notice new physical changes along the way.

Thank you for sharing this experience with me, and please feel free to leave your comments below. Any advice or encouragement is always welcome and greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

Congratulations... Way to go!

Thank you!

It's incredible how quickly you started feeling better after the change. One thing that has really helped me is a "fast mimicking" diet. Anyhow, you have my support!

Thank you! I'm interested in this "fast mimicking" diet you referenced. I am unable to fast for even so much as a 12 hour period, given that my digestive issues also cause me to experience extreme hunger, and fatigue or even loss of consciousness if I don't eat every few hours.

Well, it's not super easy, but here is more about the fast mimicking diet

Thank you! I'll take a look.

I am curious Michael, is the "fast mimicking" diet similar to intermittent fasting and Ketosis?

could be, I'm not an expert. I just tried it for a few months and I always feel better and I lost weight! just google fast mimicking diet and you will find a lot of discussion.

So like ketosis? Or just less sugar?

I've been doing ketosis for a few months after getting fed up with gut problems, been feeling great!

Best of luck achieving your health goals!

It's not necessarily ketosis, although I'm sure we are increasing our state of ketosis in the process. We are cutting out all processed sugars. The only sugars we are consuming are the natural sugars present in fruit, with the idea that the fiber in the fruit will make it slower to digest. The dangers of sugars are when you have a burst of sugar that gets metabolized right away, but when your gut takes a longer time to break down the fibers in a piece of fruit, for example, you are getting a slower stream of sugar as opposed to a bullet of it.

I'm glad to hear that you are doing so much better!

Great work, keep it up. Someone very close to me is struggling with this problem. I will show her your progress as little bit inspiration may help.
Thanks for sharing

Thank you, it's wonderful to hear that this very difficult decision to share and publicly document my fight against alcoholism has served to inspire others. It gives me a bit more purpose.

There is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of. Its just some addictions are socially acceptable and some not. Whats the difference between alcohol addiction and being addicted to food? Addiction is an addiction. Keep up the good work and stay open minded, you are definitely on a right path...can't wait to see your progress!

Thank you so much! Your kind words mean a lot to me.

Glad you're going on the path of improving yourself ! Keep this up and you'll achieve all your goals :)

Thank you! I certainly intend to.

Right on! it's amazing what changing small habits can do. ^_^ All the best 🙏

I will be 10 years sober July 15th, 2017 You look young, wish I stopped when I was your age.

Congratulations! And thank you, I am actually 29.

Positive changes in life are amazing. Keep it up and I know you will feel even more rewarded!

Thank you! I certainly will!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45