My Story For (Acts of Kindness Challenge)

in #actsofkindnesschallenge7 years ago (edited)

It has been about 2 years now, but the feeling is still very fresh. One day while standing in line at a cash register, I noticed the very few items that a young mother had. Normally I think nothing of it, but something urged me to watch what was about to unfold.
As the cashier rang up her things, she was counting what cash she had in her hand, and looked down at her child. The look was unbearable, especially as I too was a mother, so I understood full well how it pains to not be able to buy something for your child.
I asked the cashier to run the crayons up with my order and hand them to her. The young mother did not have to say what I saw in her eyes. I told her it was ok, and I was happy to pay for the things she so wanted for that little one.
The cashier silently thanked me as she tried to not shed tears at what just happened. To this day, whenever I think about it, that moment still makes me almost tear up. I would do it all over again without one moment's hesitation.
0730171550.jpg
Taken with my iphone

Sort:  

Very observant and kind...

That mom will never forget what you did for her child.

Thank you, I still wonder how she is doing. I've not run into her since then. I hope some day she will be able to pass that feeling on. It makes the heart feel something words cannot explain.

Fantastic @pixiehunter!!!!
What an absolute genuine "compassion without strings" story.
Many of us have been in a situation where we have reached a cash register and wondered if we would have enough to pay the bill or have had to ask the cashier to take an item off so that a budget could be adhered to. It can be absolutely humiliating for the buyer and gut wrenching for the cashier. You helped 4 people in this scenario with the few dollars that the crayons cost you.
Well done!!! I have upvoted your post at 100% of my voting power and I have followed you. ;)

Thank you for the heartfelt comment. I too have had those moments, where I couldn't pay for everything. It makes no difference if it were food, clothing or even crayons. Even without her speaking a word, I know she was grateful for my compassion.

Congratulations @pixiehunter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Can't really imagine the smile of a child at that particular moment. Probably not the first time she was forced to put something back right at the register.

You did a good thing that day. Thanks for sharing your Kindness Challenge story!

@pixiehunter, thanks for the great story of kindness! I love how this act not only was incredibly kind, but also saved a humiliating experience for the mother and embarrassment for everyone who witnessed it.....like double the goodness :-). Thanks for spreading goodness and for posting about it!

You are welcome, I hope this feeling never subsides. Just wish my own child had been there, so he can see what happens when people help others. I can only hope he too, learns how good it feels. He gets a little taste of it each year, when I buy toys to donate, for Christmas.

I'm sure your child will witness lots of acts of kindness with you and at other times since they are everywhere! best thing is to help him look for the good.

Sometimes these "small" kinds of of good acts are what make a big difference. Surely you have her hope that there are still many nice people out there like you :)

I agree, and hope one day she is able to pass that feeling on. The feeling is priceless, and I hope it gave her something to hang on to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42