Random Acts of KindnesssteemCreated with Sketch.

steemit kate.jpg

Random Acts of Kindness

I am a senior, I live in a rural community where seniors far outnumber other age groups. I have a friend who, although not a senior, is disabled and lives on a very small income. This friend goes with me to the local food bank every first and third Friday where we both get much needed groceries.

Last week my friend was in too much pain to go to the food bank. I went and picked up food for both of us. Then I delivered the food to my friend. That family will eat this week because I was willing to pick up food and deliver it to their home. It was a small effort on my part, but my friend and family have assured me several times that it made their lives much easier.

I had planned to go for the food for my family, so it was not out of the way, nor a hardship for me, and it blessed someone else. What a wonderful experience.

I chose to not publish pictures other than my own as I have not received permission from either my friend or the food bank, and do not wish to invade my friends privacy. I can assure you that participating in Random Acts of Kindness like this has rewards all of its own. The smiles and grateful tears from those who receive stay with me for a long time.

I realized just how much I am appreciated when, in February 2017 and again in March 2017 I lost two sisters to untimely deaths. My neighbors and friends ralleyed around me and people went out of their way to see that my family was cared for and much love was shown. While my sisters will be sorely missed, the friends and neighbors have filled part of the vacuum of their passing with a new kind of love. I urge you, reach out, find ways to show kindness to those around you, without looking for rewards or returns. You never know how much your kindness is appreciated until something rocks your world, like death rocked mine.

Sort:  

God bless your kind soul. To have a friend in you would be a tremendous blessing

@goldendawne, thank you for those kind words. I truly believe in the golden rule. It has stood me in good stead for my whole life.

Congratulations @katedansyng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @katedansyng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is an amazing snapshot of life @katedabsyng! It sounds like you have really wonderful people around you.
Thanks for taking some time today to share it with all of us. :)
I have followed you.

@rebeccaryan, you are most welcome, I'm glad my story made in impression on you. We are a close knit family and also neighborhood, and that lends strength in time of need and joy when celebrating. I am truly a blessed woman.

Beautiful stories @katedansyng, thanks so much for sharing them! And you are so right - these acts are such a gift for everyone!

@naturepfbeing You are most welcome, I'm pleased that my words touched you. I am truly a blessed woman.

some times it only takes a smile to a few kind and positive words to uplift another's spirits and/or change their frame of mind :) sorry for your loss but warms the heart to know your not alone :) thanks for sharing

@freakygeak, Thank you for your kindness as well. It was hard to face those times. We lost a total of 5 members of our family in a 2 month period. 2 of my 3 younger sisters, an uncle, a grandmother and a cousin. They all died separately. I don't mind telling you it had the whole family reeling.

oh my and here I thought losing three people in a span of two months was hard :/ it's been two years now though it still feels very recent my Mom passed on one of her sisters birthday in June I was making arrangements in July for a celebration of life and found out my oldest brother was in hospital He passed away the first week of August and then same month my Dad on one of my sisters birthday so I ended up having one gathering for all three members. 2015 was not the best for a while. I hope your dealing better then me :)

@freakygeak, loosing 3 members of your family in a short span of time is hard! I'm sorry for your loss, and know that you miss each of them terribly. My thoughts are with you.

Sorry to hear about your loss, it's great to have people around you that care about your though, really heartwarming.
I also believe there is so much more joy in giving than in receiving, it's great what you do for your friends.

@artwithflo doing things with and for my family and friends makes living worthwhile. I get way more love than I invest. Can't tell you how much it means to me to have family and friends who stand with me through thick and thin.

It is very sad how things have played out for you in your family. I'm so sorry that times have been hard. Through it all you still give. Your loss is great, but your attitude and love for others is greater.

@daddykirbs Thanks for your kindnesses to me and mine. Your mentoring and help have made things much easier for me. True, my loss is great, but also true, the love given and received has grown exponentially.

I love your new cover image!

Beautiful.... a smile and a little effort can make somebodys day (or week). It doesn't have to cost much time or money, but will be worth so much more than money ever can buy! Thanks for sharing!

@livkh you are so right. Many years ago I made a conscience effort to find one nice thing to compliment someone on every day. Before I knew it I was not looking, things just stood out to me. "Those are beautiful earrings, nice suit, love the tie"...things like that. I always get smiles and thank yous back when I say those things. Once, I spoke to a woman in a crowded elevator. I told her that I hoped her day went well, she looked sad and I thought she needed a hug. She got off the elevator when I did, so I asked her if I could hug her. She agreed and when I hugged her, she sobbed. Seems her husband had just been arrested and she was totally new in town and knew no one. That hug gave her some confidence and let her know that even strangers can be kind. It did my heart good as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67