"Acts Of Kindness Challenge" Entry #1 (200 Words or Less)

I have a YouTube Channel and I correspond with several people on there. As a disabled police officer, I became bed ridden for quite a while and lost my law enforcement career after 12 years on the force. My social life during my career was nonexistent as it was and when I was hit with my disease, well lets just say my bed was my best friend. During my time on YouTube, I developed a friendship with a man named Dean. Dean and I would correspond with each other frequently. Needless to say, Dean knew about what happened in my life and how bad it bothered me losing my career.

Out of the blue, Dean sent me some silver coins for no reason at all. I was floored by his generosity and wanted to give him a gift also. A miscommunication happened and my gift to him was sent back to me.. Dean felt like he had to make up for the mistake and had three different silversmiths create a 10 ounce custom silver piece of art for me! I'm not used to receiving gifts like this so I was extremely emotional. Here's the video of me opening it.

Here's the video of me opening the gift.

Sort:  

This is fantastic @bluelightbandit!!!!
It's a great random act of kindness. Thanks for sharing your story with all of us and the story of the 3 silversmiths who had a hand in forging this piece of art for you. Your gratitude can be felt right through your video.
Well done! Upvoted and following

@rebeccaryan
So cool with the web of connections that come from your article!!
One of these silversmiths(Vulcan5678 and his wife) are good YouTube friends of mine!!
Again, very glad you had this thought, it has been nice reading these stories!!

Thanks for all your great comments @em3! It was great to meet you and @bluelightbandit.
@natureofbeing and myself created this challenge and now we are trying to decide if there could be potentially enough interest and material to run it as a contest of sorts and make it a permanent feature on Steemit.

@rebeccaryan
Hmmmm ...I may be hesitant to run it as a contest, or certainly as a permanent one...there will be the temptation for people to game it and just makeup stories, hoping to win....
I know this is a negative view, but for every one post or acts like yours, there are probably 1-2 posts on Steemit just going for a buck.
An occasional callout is nice, and gives your followers the chance to share or resteem and find others that want to share.
All the best,
Peace!!!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this @em3. We've identified that we definitely need qualifying criteria around this. We aren't opposed to allowing fictitious stories as long as they are marked as such. Ultimately they create the same feelings but for sure, true stories carry more value. :)

Thank you so much! It really hit home with me because I'm just not used to people being that nice to me. 12 years wearing a badge, you normally don't run across the nicest of people. Every now and then you do, but day in and day out, you're gonna deal with some of the worst. Thank you again!

You have made a good and kind friend. Act of kindness really restores my faith in humanity

I feel the the exact same way! After years of being hated for doing a job and seeing what this world is coming to with all the violence, it kinda puts ice over your heart. But when you run across that one special person that makes you feel that special, the ice melts and faith is again restored!

I really enjoyed reading and watching your story @bluelightbandit, thanks for sharing it! Heartening...

Thank you so much for taking the time to watch/read and comment on it! There's not that many things that have happened in my life that have left me speechless like this did. Thank you, again!

Well that is one touching gift. They put a lot of thought into that, and created a beautiful piece of art. I appreciate you serving your country, many are called, but few will answer, so I will leave you with my Canadian police slogan "Maintiens le Droit" .

Stay safe, and stay well Brother.

Thank you sir for your compliment, it means a great deal to me when someone says something like that! I had to look up what the slogan meant and that's really cool also, thanks!

That's an amazing peice, I'm always so impressed with the generosity of the community on YouTube

Yes, there are some very nice and generous people on YouTube! But unfortunately, there are many wolves disguised as sheep also. I've met some really good actors on there. They act all friendly and buddy-buddy to ya in their videos but their true colors eventually come out, especially when you communicate with them privately.

@bluelightbandit
Not sure if I'm subb'd to you, but I will be after I get finished typing!
Vulcan5678 and his wife are A+ folks!
I bought a long bar from him and he sent me a nice little bonus with my channel name on it(e=m3 Making Metal Mine).

I have followed him and many others in the silver community for almost a year now!!
Really I need to get more active on both my YT channels...been a while since I uploaded!

I look forward to watching this video!
I'm glad @rebeccaryan did this series!
Peace!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64850.80
ETH 3471.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55