The Artists Adventure! Part 7 "Memorizing lines"

in #actor7 years ago

P1020155.JPG
Juggling balls!

So this is an odd practice habit I picked up and it works well for me; Juggling while memorizing lines. Once one knows how to juggle, it becomes second nature and while running your lines it gives you something mundane to do. In a way it just helps one concentrate at the task at hand by doing a second slightly difficult task at the same time.

If for some reason you can't juggle, or are just to busy at work to memorize those lines there are alternatives. I used to work at a Pizza place part-time and I volunteered to take the early shift which no one wanted. I pre-recorded my lines on a tape put my headphones in and just listened to it on repeat while doing basic prep work. If you have something easy at work that literally takes no effort and you could do it in your sleep that is an excellent way to memorize while prioritizing time.

However without that mundane activity I have resorted to my old friends the juggling balls, the person who taught me this trick is probably the teacher I respect more then any other. Tanya Ryga she used to be a teacher at Red Deer College, and I can thank her for all these fun little tricks. I wish in my youth I had listened more intently to her advice looking back I made a lot of mistakes in the theater world. But mistakes still help you to grow, and I would not be where I am today without persevering through my many failures.

Cheers Friends and Happy Juggling!

Sort:  

THANK YOU
.. THE MOST RELIABLE WORK... THE GREATEST COMPETENCIES :((

It's funny where mistakes can sometimes take you :(

I am more comfortable in just eating peanuts while memorizing lines or speeches though hehe because they say that peanuts make your brain memory works faster and I think it works for me! :)
I feel like my focus to memorize will get lost when I am multitasking. Anyways that's a good option though and a healthy style to memorize.
Great post. Have a good one :)

I am going to have to try that one, I have giant box of cashews for Christmas that I still havn't touched!

awesome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62886.34
ETH 2448.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64