A HitchHiking Journey To White Clay Justice Camp

in #activist7 years ago (edited)

The universe called me to the remote isolation of White Clay Justice Camp to be of service to Camp for the healing process that is needed in the wake of traumas that have occurred in the 2 mile stretch between White Clay and Pine Ridge Reservation. The most recent victory of “Water Protectors” at this camp was to force the closure of the four liquor stores that were present in White Clay (which has a standing population of 10 people). I chose not to spend time on the details of this process to explain my journey of getting to White Clay at this time. My story is of the unusual journey that got me to the Camp.
It was an Early afternoon in Cheyenne, Wyoming at the truck stop a strange time of day perhaps to be drinking coffee for most, although after a cold night plus a long morning of hitchhiking it seemed the perfect resting point and place for the warming drink. As I sat here praying and waiting for the next ride to bring me to White Clay Justice. Two young travelers arrived in full “dirty kid” appearance and asked me where I was headed to and I informed them although they weren’t going far on my journey they gave me a ride up the road to the next intersecting Highway. They were somewhat confused by my want to be dropped off in what seemed to them a remote and strange place for hitchhiking. I had thought that perhaps I would spend some time walking on this journey to Camp as a act of solidarity with the movement.(Creator had other plans it seems). I walked a good 4 miles that afternoon when a old Chevy pulled over and asked me if I needed a ride and I was somewhat worn out and the sky was getting dark and I was getting ready to find a place to rest for a bit so I accepted the ride. The gentleman driving was Navajo and very friendly he was heading to work and gave me a ride as far as Torrington. He sang songs in Lakota and Navajo and prayed with me for a safe journey to Camp. He dropped me off at an almost closed gas station and it was close to dark. I found my way to the McDonald's to charge my phone get a bite to eat. From there I called my hunka brother and got an earful of directions of how to get to the Rez. I also was handed a few dollars by some fellow diners which I was grateful for. I spent the night curled up on the side of the road near the truck stop and in the morning packed up quickly got coffee at the truck stop and some trail mix. I then found a spot to hitch from on the road and found a ride quickly from a young man on his way to work and he gave me a pocket knife and some cash. He got me as far as Scottsbluff, NE to the truck stop in the town. I enjoyed a decent meal there and was very confused by which way to go from here and called my brother for directions which only got me even made me more confused. I called my friend at White Clay and they couldn’t come get me but sent up prayers for me and prepared me to stay strong. I found my way to a gas station near the highway and posted there looking for rides until it got late in the evening and I found a place to lay my sleeping bag out and wait out the night.
The next morning was nippy as I woke in the field with frost on my bag. I packed my gear and made my way to the gas station to warm up and get a cup of coffee. I had a limited charge on my cell phone and posted myself in the bathroom with my coffee to charge my phone. I am sure the cashier was suspect of me with my travel pack tent and all. She didn’t say anything although I knew that she was not happy with my presence in the bathroom.
I drank my coffee and decided that this was not a place to hitch a ride from. I put my pack on and started walking up the road that was the highway out of town. I was praying as I walked for an answer of how I would arrive at Camp White Clay Justice. I had heard they are really strict with hitchhikers in Nebraska and due to my medical need I thought it best to keep a low profile.
I walked perhaps a mile and found that there was an extension office which I figured might be a long shot to getting to where I was going but it felt like a good place to start. I walked over to the office and asked the ladies for help with a ride. They started calling husbands, friends and churches. Then one gal who had connections with The Lakota Lutheran Center offered me a ride over there. I arrived just in time for a spaghetti lunch and tons of questions. I was offered a place to stay in a house while networking with the community to find me a ride to White Clay Justice. I found that the community here was extremely friendly and giving of their hearts. Many of the churches offer meals and The Lakota community is connected and working on bringing back traditional language. I even attended a Lakota language class as part of this journey. I have met some people that are working on healing and also some who are really struggling with addiction issues here. I offer prayers for their healing. People in ScottsBluff, Nebraska wanted more stories of my experience at Standing Rock at Oceti Sakowin and had asked me to stay and share my stories with them. I offered a limited version of my experience within the movement and asked them to read my stories as I come to the point in which I can share them in a written form. I felt extremely supported in my quest to help with indigenous movement within this community. This part of my journey to White Clay Justice was a beautiful break from the struggles that had led to this chapter of my journey as a out of the box traveller on this walk to protect our Mother Earth. I stayed in Scottsbluff for 4 days and finally found a ride to camp from someone who lived in Pine Ridge which was only a few miles from where I need to arrive. We arrived at Camp White Clay Justice shortly after dark and I was greeted by a warm and loving hug.
The next two months were spent in a deep and challenging healing process of old wounds that surfaced in some extremely painful ways and challenged my friendships within the community that was at camp. I was grateful to notice what triggered my pain and often expressed this to those around me. I decided that I needed to come away from camp and return to Colorado to work on other projects that were in need of my attention. Which I will post information on as these come to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49