You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is "Activism" to You?

in #activism8 years ago (edited)

Cooperative Agorism (Steemit, blockchains, income unions) is a perfectly valid form of activism in my opinion and probably does the most good.

Taking the time to vote in an election could be considered another form of "activism" and could do good as well.

Personally, I do both to varying degrees. The way I see it, the key idea with any type of activism would ultimatley (in the long run) be to enact positive lasting change in the world; Directly or indirectly.

Sort:  

I love the concept of agorism, but I also think it comes with a very real risk for those with a business or family which could be harmed for not following the laws created by the human farmers. I'm still working my way through that to figure out what level of risk I'm willing to take for the things I believe in. I do think taxation is theft and would prefer not to financially support the war machine, but I also recognize I'm being threatened by force if I don't comply, so my moral choices are already compromised.

Agorism would be great if the consequences of avoiding the State were less and there were easier ways to contribute to competing voluntary service providers to make government (and their monopoly use of force) more irrelevant.

As to voting... well, I linked to my thoughts on that above. :)

I love the concept of agorism, but I also think it comes with a very real risk for those with a business or family which could be harmed for not following the laws created by the human farmers.

Exactly. We are actually in agreement here. This was what Rothbard and some others said, which is part of what I'm now echoing.

Cooperative Agorism differs from Konkins Agorism on many levels; It isn't actually just a small variation on "Agorism". For one thing it's been made clear with technologies such as bitcoin, that sometimes getting rid of the State and it's institutions is best done by legal means. None of what Satoshi Nakamoto did was really illegal in most parts of the world at the time of inception, so it was not Agorism in the sense that Konkin would often propagate for, yet it gave rise to a huge black market and lots of upside for Konkin style "Agorism".

Cooperative Agorism is also more focused establishing the sort of syndication that Konkin thought would come about at a later stage in developement, today rather than later.

In short, I would say Cooperative Agorism is the idea of "outbuilding" the State. Of, rather than fighting the existing system or making ourselves into targets that can be shut down (see Napster), creating entire new paradigms (torrent, blockchains) that are much harder to stop and will eventually render the old solutions provided to us by a benevolent dictatorship entirely obsolete.

If you want to, you can be a Cooperative Agorist - Co.Agorist for short - today. No need to break the law what so ever.

That's beautiful! Thanks for clarifying.

You're welcome. I will be writing full posts on this topic in the near future. Anyone that considers himself an artist or designer is welcome to leave me a message on Steemit.chat or Discord so we can get the message out to more people.

And please, for what it's worth; You, whoever is reading this, don't need my or anyone elses approval to spread this simple message and potentially help someone out there achieve more freedom in their life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60617.06
ETH 2405.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59