I Vote by not Voting

in #activism8 years ago (edited)

The secret to effective nonviolent resistance - Ted Talk

 We're not going to end violence by telling people that it's morally  wrong, says Jamila Raqib, executive director of the Albert Einstein  Institution. Instead, we must find alternative ways to conduct conflict  that are equally powerful and effective. Raqib promotes nonviolent  resistance to people living under tyranny — and there's a lot more to it  than street protests. She shares encouraging examples of creative  strategies that have led to change around the world and a message of  hope for a future without armed conflict. "The greatest hope for  humanity lies not in condemning violence but in making violence  obsolete," Raqib says. 

This Ted Talk was a powerful, realistic message for me. Applicable to many different struggles.  For me I apply it to our political system. I don't have a TV and I don't  read mainstream media, but I still feel the destructive force of our  political system here in America. I value freedom and liberty  more than anything else on the planet. That is why I joined the military  as a young kid out of high school and was willing to sacrifice my life  for it. I found no such liberty and freedom, but ironically I found  the opposite with labels like "property of the US government" and  extreme coercion to follow the orders of politicians that often resulted  in me being a part of taking away freedom and liberty of others.

 After that important life lesson it seemed obvious that if I want  positive change for our country and protect my warrior brother's and  sisters in the military then we should use our democratic political  system to realize freedom and liberty. Well after 20 years of campaign  supporting, educating, nonviolently fighting for the politicians who  embodied liberty and freedom -- well I don't need to even say how bad it  is or how helpless our system is. 

Well to nonviolently fight for  my country's liberty and freedom I chose to resist repression. I vote  by not voting. I participate by not participating. I fight by not  fighting.  

Those who seek to destroy us use fear and conflict as  their weapon. Fight fear with faith in humanity and take personal  responsibility to learn why others feel violence is their only option.  Rather than listening to the unrelenting narrative of what divides us  (race, religion, geography, sex) focus on what makes us united (Love,  happiness, choice, freedom). 

The weakness of our oppressors is  they need an ever growing amount of resources to survive. The most  valuable resource on the planet is you. Just by choosing to not chose  (Do not vote) is more powerful than any weapon they use. Chose not to  give away your freedom and liberty for the lie of security.   Don't trade your valuable time and local resources for their worthless  currency. They can create an infinite amount of digital dollars and  falsely give value and power to it. Search for the things in your life  that have value and invest in those and give those power. 

Sort:  

Sounds really steemosophically! The way to go!

don't feed the monster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92