You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Interesting Read: A Leftist Frustrated with Leftist Culture

in #activism7 years ago

Great post @lukestokes! I remember the days when it wasn't just the words that were said which were taken into consideration but the meaning behind the words. Without considering intent and meaning, we live in a world where college campuses need "safe" zones where they don't have to hear words that may "hurt" them.

Alas, the good ol' days!

I appreciate the Steem platform because so far, in my short experience with it, it seems to give people an opportunity to share in an encouraging and uplifting environment. This makes us all work extra hard to put out good content.

I just discovered your writing and am happy!

Sort:  

Thank you, Karen! It's amazing what happens when good behavior is incentivized. People start acting civil. The great comments and conversations are among the things I love most about Steemit.

I know! I've only been on for a few weeks and my husband asked me the other day why I keep saying I'm so in love with the Steemit community when I kept my distance from other social media platforms... my first tweet in 9 years was that I was a Steemian. LOL. And, I told him it was because there's a kindred spirit I see with some, not all, Steemians because I know that we see this as a platform that can help us reach our goals and dreams in a way that feeds our soul. I think he's warming to it because he sees I'm happy here. Have a great night or day whereever you are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71