Sort:  

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @mariannewest!
@mariannewest will receive 0.00106313 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00070875 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Indeed, multilingual children have a major advantage over their peers, as learning an additional language expands thinking and reasoning skills in some truly extraordinary ways.

My husband's kids grew up speaking Polish at home, which they still speak well, and they're both extremely smart and funny, which they may well have been anyway, but how cool that they can be so in two languages!

Marek learned to speak English as an adult, before he came to the States, and of course, growing up in communist Russian-occupied Poland, he was forced to learn Russian.

After moving to NYC, he learned Czech and Slovak from his customers in his music store, so he speaks five languages in all, two fluently. He also speaks some German, and a smatterings of other languages.

I've always been blown away by his deep understanding of the nuances in the English language, as he has picked up on many things that even intelligent Americans rarely notice, and I was especially surprised that he "got" both my jokes and my poetry from the start.

But as Polish is both a Romance language, based on Latin, with similar grammatical structure, and a Slavic language, I think that explains a great deal of it; English, which began as a Germanic language, borrowed heavily from both language families.

I speak a bit of several languages, including Polish and German, but I'm only fully fluent in English. I'd like to change that, and learn Polish to at least a decent conversational level, along with French, German and Spanish.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have big plans 😀👍 Being bilingual is an excellent way to be 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, big plans, let's see if I get there.
I'm great at pronouncing Polish, but not so far as good at retaining it long term. ;-)

Thank you. I think it is a good idea as well 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61195.23
ETH 2975.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47