My Actifit Report Card: November 13 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

A cool day but I still got some steps in

Let me start with one Interesting random fact I came across today on one of the Lync WiFi Terminals, NYC goes through 1 Billion Gallons of water a day. Thats a lot of water and something I did not know till today.

A cool morning today, in fact during the day the temp real feel will never make it above about 10 below freezing point and the high for the day actual temp will be just on freezing point at 32F , so I wanted to get some steps in, and wondered around Grand Central when off the train before heading to the office and that's what most of today's iPhone shots will be of, I had forgotten I had two meetings in other buildings today so that also helped to get my steps up to a reasonable level.

And I have been hinting about a life change for me, well now I can announce it end of February I am leaving my job and going into retirement mode, more time for family, photos and steemit :)

When I got home tonight I saw a couple of shots I took with my new Tamron 17-28 lens the other day, that fit with this post so let me start with those.

First of this shot in Grand Central main concourse

1 1 Grand Central.jpg
Sony A7iii 17mm F7.1 1/60 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


it was taken about 6:45 so the light wasn't to good so a fairly high ISO at 8000, but I am semi-happy with this shot not to much noise

Random Fact number 2 The 10 chandeliers in Grand Central Terminal’s Main Lobby are decorated with gold and each holds 110 light bulbs.

and this next shot in the same area looking up at the ceiling which is worth checking out if you ever visit grand Central

1 1 Grand Central2.jpg

Sony A7iii 17 mm F7.1 1/40 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


Another shot at 8000 ISO, I should have changed the aperture down, but I was just playing with the lens at that stage and didn't think I would share this in a post, but I will try it again

Random fact 3, the ceiling in Grand Central has some interesting things many may not know, Such as it was painted in reverse, it was designed and looked at looking up on to the drawing, but they projected it onto the ceiling and hence it ended up in reverse, east to the west, this is not so unknown but the next one many may not know about I know I didn't till preparing this post.

Shots taken on my brief walks around today

Since I started with a random fact let me throw some more into this post since my walking shots are nothing real interesting

Random fact 4 No trains actually pass through Grand Central, all trains that come into or leave Grand Central, it is the last stop.

And since I am speaking of trains here is one

8A559D1CB07D4C76BD6F0AB2D02A8F8C.jpeg

iPhone 11 Pro
Click here to view larger


Random fact 5 More than 750,000 people pass through Grand Central every day

So lets show some people, before 7Am its not so bust but by 8 it’s starting to get busy

4ACBBA9886A9422AB3DA139FBFDE1DD1.jpeg

iPhone 11 Pro
Click here to view larger


Random fact 6 Grand Central is the largest railway station in the world

And it is easy to get lost in there when you first get to experience it, there are so many corridors and walkways all aroun

65B289D1F03641A48E87E56F151C57A6.jpeg

iPhone 11 Pro
Click here to view larger


Random fact 6 It is filled with acorns and Oak leaves , you can see them all around the station, the reason why is the acorn is the symbol of the Vanderbilt family who build Grand Central

And I don't think I got any shots of them on this mornings walk, so here is a corridor leading to the Hyatt Hotel Lobby

4243C9F59B0B4A75B366B2DF129AD001.jpeg

iPhone 11 Pro
Click here to view larger


Random fact 6 it even has a tennis court on the 4th floor, not cheap between $90-250 for an hours play

And another of the corridors, I haven’t played tennis for years and even though it is open to the public I did ot check it out

2070750F8D5E416EB65CB4194683CD87.jpeg

iPhone 11 Pro
Click here to view larger


And to show I did walk outdoors a bit her eis one shot of the vendors setting up at the Farmers Market in the Dag Hammarskjold plaza, a little cold doesn't slow them down, but it did me, I hate wearing gloves which cover my fingers so I wear fingerless gloves and hence for the most part keep my hands in my jacket pocket when out walking today

2F1B38D079004C0EBCF1FE3F3A75CA1E.jpeg

iPhone 11/Pro
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Grand Central terminal NYC d3scr


12292
Daily Activity,Photowalking,Walking

Sort:  

Thank you for the information JJ, and if I should ever come to NYC I will certainly check it ;)
The fact, that 750,000 people pass through the station every day is quite impressive, because our town has only about 100,000 inhabitants 😉


$trdo
!BEER
!DERANGED

I think the place I grew up only had like 15k people but it’s smack between two small cities about the size of yours
I could blame the big city for making me !DERANGED

And that number is just for Grand Central I think the number for the whole city is close to 2.5 million come into the city daily that’s over half the population of NZ

!BEER

15,000 people didn't live in our whole valley and about 8.8 people are living in Austria (more than in NZ ;) - so your numbers are very impressive.

I have to admit, a city can make one !DERANGED but I think, if I would have stayed in my small country village I would have become even more deranged because of the many !BEER you need to survive ;) lol

Ohh yes i do blame ( quite unfairly) my !DERANGED style on living it such a big concrete Jungle LOL

Nothing to do with all the !BEER I consumed

Haha, and it has nothing to do with the !BEER ;) lol
I like the "concrete jungle" - that sounds !DERANGED 😉

You have to be careful in the Concrete jungle and watch out for the !DERANGED or you may have a rumble not he jungle, with or without !BEER

As much as I would like to visit a big city like New York one day and enjoy the view from one of the skyscrapers, I would miss the fresh clean air on a mountain peak ;)
... and I would certainly get lost in the jungle where the streets have numbers instead of names ;) lol

!DERANGED
!BEER

If it makes you feel better some of the streets have names 😎
But I to would prefer a peak over a skyscraper

!DERANGED
!BEER

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

deranged You just received DERANGED @johannpiber Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com



Hey @johannpiber, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 9 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!BEER
4

Very interesting information which I did not know before, thank you so much! the chandeliers decorations with gold are fantastic!

Thanks :) it is such a cool building



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Tattoodjay! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

@tattoodjay thank you for the walk through Grand Central Station, we parked in the parking lot there but did not go inside, now I wish I would have. Great info all things I did not know.

If you ever visit again its worth popping into experience

@tattoodjay I will definitely do that

I love interesting and random facts! Thanks for sharing the information.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks it was fun finding out some of these things

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 433.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

deranged You just received DERANGED @tattoodjay Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72