My Actifit Report Card: October 10 2019 Times Square

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Times are a changing

The title of this post came to me in a comment this morning from @papilloncharity, and since i was in Times Square this morning it seemed to fit this post.

This morning I got into the city at my usual time a little before 7AM and the rain had taken a break so I decided to walk up to Times Square while it was relatively quiet and thats what I will share shots of today.

I got about 5K steps in walking to around and from Times Square to the office and the rest of my steps are just around the office and between buildings, all in all, a good day but nothing exciting to write about, I know I say that a lot, but its the truth 😂 I am just plain old me ad not an international man of mystery.

Starting this post with a couple of shots of Times Square from a previous visit then with my Camera, I hope they are better than the ones taken with my phone LOL
This first shot is of Billboards advertisingShadow bringers which I think is or was at the time a new game in the final Fantasy Series and one I am sure my Wifes son has already been playing, from back when it was released in July

1 tIMES SQUARE.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


And just some of the big electronic displays in Times Square, Back in July when I took these shots T-mobile was a big advertiser there as you can see

1 tIMES SQUARE2.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


Some shots from my morning walk

Starting in Times Square and all the Billboards and big-screen displays. I similar shot to the last one but a few months later, different advertising but T-Mobile is still up there in force.

5C84EAC6293648DFAEF26FFA35F6FF19.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


The first time I visited Times Square was during the day when it was crowded with people, and that’s probably when most see it, thats one reason why I like visiting there in the early morning and why there are not to many people in these shots.
But What got me on my first visit and still does today are all the lights and screens in Times Square and the thought came to me how much do they spend on Electricity there and I found an article online from 2017 that the annual cost for all these lights and displays back then was around $8.7 Million Dollars that's not far off $24,000 a day a mind-blowing figure for me.

But it is surpassed by Las Vegas where the MGM Hotel alone spends about $120,000 a month on Electricity and it is estimated the whole strip in Vegas uses 8,000 Megawatts of electricity per day costing then about $1.1 Million a day.

And a shot of the area of the Good Morning America broadcast center, you can look through the windows and see the show being broadcast, that is if you want to battle the roads that are often there.

C20557B0E99B462292EA5D0C721969CC.jpeg.

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger



And another shot of the well lit up Times Square area

57D45648E37F4B9DA09F6389525FC367.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


And more of the lights in Times Square

0C877E7DEBE9424DA2E27FAEA404601B.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


And on my way to my Office waking down 42nd Street

045A17C48B664076A96D8F93B0117672.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


Looking along Fifth Avenue as I crossed it

72FB040C42A1412DB2A23C525B689FF9.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


And I am always amused when I see these signs

9F3C5A4E097A4EA1A9CC327ABC3DF9EE.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger

Now I have been told they are put out on the request of Lawyers for the building in most cases to protect from lawsuits in case someone slips on a wet Pavement, but if it has been raining earlier in the day isn't and you can see the water on the footpath, isn't it kind of obvious that the pathway is wet!

Now I am not sure if its a case of Times are a changing that these signs are needed or the fact that I grew up down Under and never saw them, but this sign and the Fact that I was in Times Square this morning is the reason for the title of this post.


And here is the song Times are a changing by Bob Dylan


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.757292 lat -73.985863 long Times Square NYC d3scr

12284
Daily Activity,Moving Around Office,Photowalking,Walking

Sort:  

Colorful staff!!!

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

@tipu curate

Congratulations @axeman, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @tattoodjay!
@tattoodjay will receive 0.47460600 TRDO & @axeman will get 0.31640400 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks Kindly I appreciate the support

Congratulations @tattoodjay, your post successfully recieved 0.474606 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@axeman : 0.316404 TRDO


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Damn that's a shit ton of electric !tip

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: The Daily Highlight Reel.. Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

for the city that never sleeps it seems that many people are still in their beds :P

or at least not in the streets :P

LOL Yeah it may never sleep but it does have quite periods, but not for long loL

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to Tattoodjay! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Awesome shots! When I visited Times Square was also during the day but in the evening, or early in the morning can be somewhat stunning, and that's probably to most tourists, when see it for the first time, well known as „Crossroads of the World“

Ohh yes I think the name Crossroads of the World is very fitting it is an amazing place to visit

So beautiful, am so speechless 😀

Thanks so kind of you :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 5 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 67928.13
ETH 3777.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75