My Actifit Report Card: October 7 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

Where the Streets have no name

When I started my walk to the office this mornings the Song Where the streets have no name by U2 was the first song that came on my playlist and led to todays shots, if you are not aware of the song I have included a link to it at the end of the post.
I have been a Fan of U2 for a long time and especially there older Music I saw them in concert once in Sarajevo, the first live concert there, after the fighting and the experience was amazing I must say myself and everyone there had an absolute blast.

As for my day, a fairly short walk to work this morning as i had early meetings, but with walking to and from work and out and back for lunch I managed to get in my personal goal of 7.5K steps and a little more. But other than that it was a fairly busy workday so nothing exciting to report about.

Starting with a couple of shots taken with my phone, as I usually do in evening posts, this first one is one that came to me to share tonight as I was walking around today and that will be explained later in the post how it ties in totodays shots, but for now this Street does have no name as I forget where I took this shot but I think it was in Soho and I do love seeign Cobblestone Streets

1 cobblestones.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F4 1/60 Sec ISO 320
Click here to view larger



And although this is actually a walkway in a park, it is in City Hall Park and a shot I thgought would fit witht he pther sin this post

1 street shadows.jpg

Sony A7iii 34mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 200
Click here to view larger


Shots taken with my iPhone on todays walks around the city, and although I titled this post where the streets have no name The streets I took shots of today, do all have names starting with this shot looking down Lexington Ave

C30C425E90FA4DFD85245126034E7E8B.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger



Now it may look like i am walking down the middle of Lexington Ave at great risk, but thats not the case i was crossing over on a Pedestrian crossing and alert to what traffic was doing around me for all these shots

And here I am looking along Third Ave, I used the vivid filter on the iPhone camera App for these first couple of shots which makes it look brighter that it was, the Sun was only just about to rise as I took these shots

4356C04836364254A2F8AF5FA8E4F1A9.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger



And now after I crossed Second Ave looking towards First ave down 46th Street I noticed the external construction Elevator had even taken down.

Now you make think the traffic is not that bad considering what you may have heard or seen of traffic in Manhattan, but these shots were taken before 7AM and trust me even half an hour later the traffic will start building up.

B882CC43C5A74964926D6F4147CABB2E.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


On a letter walk I thought shots of just the street may be boring so I got this shot in Dag Hammarskjold Plaza, and it was this shot with th paved path that lead me to add the shot of the cobblestone Street to start this post with.

CC39E56509B84E50A91BD563BF2BD504.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


I am not sure that shot made this post any more interesting but these are the shots I got today I guess an uninteresting day with work getting in the way LOL

Some Streets around the city have bike lanes as you can see in the next shot

02DCE085CBD643D0A71980E26A82F2FE.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger



Speaking about Cyclists, watch out for them if you ever visit NYC, now most drivers see to understand the concept of traffic lights and pedestrian crossings, but cyclists Well they can be....

93AD2E5426884473AF2EDDCBB7DBBC85.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger



Many of them think that everyone should give way to them and that traffic lights and pedestrian crossing do not apply to them, I have had some close calls and seen pedestrians hit many times by cyclists

And here is the Song by U2





And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long Midtown East NYC d3scr

11298
Daily Activity,Moving Around Office,Walking

Sort:  

Wow, these photos are really wonderful @tattoodjay ! It really shows that Autumn is coming (or here) with the cool feeling from these pictures and the fallen leaves on one of your photos (at the city hall area)

Monsoon has arrived to Peninsular Malaysia and we now have more rain from 1-2pm onwards and the weather has turned a little extreme of both; hot before noon, and gradually cool down to very cooling weather after noon till night time.

Thanks still coming here just little signs of it, I hope to be able to get some shots when the colors are fully out

I remember the Monsoon season from the time I live in Singapore

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks Kindly appreciated :)

Nice shots @tatoodedjay almost makes me want to visit a big city again...
Almost lol
Love that song !!!
Hope your week goes well, hoping to get something out for Wednesday Walk this week :)

Thanks and as much as I do love finding things to shot in the City I will be glad when I stop working there and probably never go back LOL

You to have a good week

Love that B&W cobblestone pic

Thanks appreciate the feedback Have a great day

Very beautiful shots I must say, kudos.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks kindly
Have a great day and a !BEER



Hey @ketcom, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 5.47% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=actifit-tattoodjay-20191007t225951435z


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Bicycles with same colour, who are they for?

They were an initiative organized by Citi Bank, there are bike parks like these al around the city, you can rent a bike from one of them and then return it at any of the other locations

That’s really cool. Probably cheaper than owning a bicycle

I haven’t used one as I like walking for the most part, but I have colleagues that live inthe city and often use them they are very cost effective, cheaper than buying a bike and taking the risk it is stolen

Really cool initiative

Yes i think so they seem to get very good use

Good morning, always when I look at publications of the city I review them again and again, but not with delight, I want to understand what happens inside me, it is not the same feeling I feel when I look at the pier, the sea , the mountains, the flowers ah! It's not that I dislike it and that I don't like it, I get carried away by the feeling I feel to see the different publications.

I stay in this opportunity with fhoto one, because of the sensation caused by the dry trees and the green bush.

Ohh I can relate to what you are saying as I work inthe city I get out for walks here for shot slike these but i am a country boy at heart and my preferred place to be taken photos is but he beach or in a natural area not a concrete Jungle

However, the beauty of nature always prevails in the concrete jungle.

You know my grandson deleted all my photos yesterday, I just cried a lot and they told me to start over.

Yes indeed you are so right

That is one of my favorite songs of theirs! I love how it starts and ends. It is the perfect opening track for Joshua Tree and it would be a great song to walk around the city listening to! Nice shots!

I think I listen to U2 more when walking around NYC than anywhere else, I am not sure why but it works for me, Joshua Tree is one of my favorites of all there albums

When they did the concert in Sarajevo it w part of I think the Zootopia tour, and with the war tat had bene going on most of the crowd didnt know those songs, but Boo quickly realized that and switched to playing some of their older songs and the crowd went wild

Bono actually lost his voice about two thirds through the concert and Edge stepped up and took the lead for a few songs and it didnt phase the crowd at all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32