Saturday Bread - Brioche: December 8 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

After getting back into my stride last week with a delicious wholemeal loaf, I wanted to try one of the other two settings on my compact bread maker. I'd been dreaming the whole week about making a brioche loaf and, after hunting around a bit, I found two recipes to test.

IMG_2418.JPG
Source

"Baking your own brioche takes a little effort but it is so worth it. Light and buttery with a pillowy interior."

Alida Ryder at Simply Delicious Food

Brioche is a wonderful concoction of bread enriched with milk, eggs and butter. It is very easy to make in a bread machine and the results are wonderful.

You do need to pay a little attention during the first kneading to ensure all the ingredients are well mixed and there is enough liquid (bread makers tend to need slightly more moisture than dough made by hand), but otherwise you can leave the machine to get on with it.

The main difference between the two recipes is that the first uses about double the quantity of plain flour to strong bread flour and the second recipe uses all strong bread flour.

IMG_2411.JPG
Recipe: Squander Two This was a fantastically light fragile loaf - it was almost impossible to cut a slice right across the loaf, and I quickly learned that the best (and most attractive) way to cut it was in wedges.

This loaf was so light and airy. The colour of the crust resembled a fresh shiny conker, straight from its husk. I thought it might be tough or crunchy, but it was simply crisp and crumbly. The loaf reminded me of french bread - genuine baguettes, not the doughy lumps we get in English supermarkets.

IMG_2415.JPG
I applied the butter test, as advised by @akipponn, and enjoyed the bread with some beech and oak smoked salmon from the Co-op. Perfect Saturday lunch.

IMG_2417.JPG
My second recipe was from the Kenwood website. The one comment advocated making the smallest size loaf (500g), so I did.

Was it possible that this loaf smelled even more delicious than the first one as it was baking? Hard to say, they both smelled fabulous! I intended to add chocolate chips to this one but I was messing about on steemit at the crucial moment and missed my chance.

This was the better loaf, I think. Still light but a little more sturdy than the recipe with plain flour. Both were very good (you would have no trouble eating either), perfect for a holiday continental style breakfast with apricot conserve and fresh, very hot cafetiere coffee, or maybe for dipping into a bowl of hot chocolate (I'd recommend the second loaf if this is your intention).

I'm looking forward to trying both to make french toast and bread and butter pudding - watch out for reviews and feeling envious :) I'm going to use the first loaf as inspiration for next Saturday's baking and experiment with french bread dinner rolls.



6467
Daily Activity, Walking

Sort:  

That plate looks delicious @shanibeer the bread came out beautifully I think, we have a bread maker but haven't used it in a good while now.

I had neglected my bread maker for a while until @breadbakers came along - worth getting yours out 😊

Wow..you can make your own bread..and youre good at needleworks..youre talented..and the bread looks delicious.. thanks for sharing..

#up-gage

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @dizzyapple :) thank you for choosing my post to participate in the #up-gage contest - very exciting!!!

The brioche looks really soft and yummy @shanibeer. Which bread maker do you use? Am thinking if I should get one too :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

The model I use isn't available any more :( I have a very simple maker that is quite small because I have a tiny kitchen, but you might like to have a timer and things like that. Here's some teviews 😊

wow! it looks very tasty, for sure i'll eat all those brioche , because i love bread sooo much! 😍

Your post has been recommended by @dizzyapple for my up-gage challenge

Hello @zephalexia I saw your up-gage challenge, it looks like a great idea. I was very pleased @dizzyapple chose one of my posts. We both post in #needleworkmonday :)

That looks like tasty bread!

It is delicious, even if I do say so myself 😊.
Do you bake at all?

He does a nice salt-free bread every few weeks. I might need him to try brioche today! :)

I do but I haven't baked anything for a while. I have a no salt bread recipe I used to make a lot where I added different fillings each time.

They look really good. I haven't tried making any bread other than the plain white loaf, must try to experiment more.

I was very pleased with the crusts - they look so brown and shiny and appetising :)

I'd been dreaming the whole week about making a brioche loaf and ...

Hahaha I can imagine this feeling. Weekend is a good timing for baking bread. Enough time to prepare, relaxed time to eat :) Now I want to have brioche ... Enjoy the loaves!

Yes ... and now I have seen the rye loaf, I want to try that haha! We have a several very good shops here where I can get the flour. I like baking on Saturdays, it feels very satisfying.

@breadbakers is a good idea - there's lots of interest!

@shanibeer, your Brioche looks very delicious.
Nice count, as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I was thinking about you when I was making it and I was going to add chocolate chips, but I forgot 😍. The steps were from going to the shops to buy the chips haha!

I remember my bread maker used to leave a very noticeable hole that made the fresh loaf even harder to cut, @shanibeer. The ones you made are beautiful - bon appetit !

From the paddle, you mean? If I time it right, I can get the dough out after the last kneed and before the last rise and take the paddle out. There is still a small hole from the spindle, but much more discreet and your sandwich fillings don't fall out!
I was reading that you can turn the bread maker off (pausing it in the cycle) so you can make rolls or a fancy plait, and then put them back in the baker to rise and bake. You have to be quick! I've been thinking whether I can concoct a small shelf inside, so some rolls on the floor of the pan, and some on the shelf. I would put them in the oven to finish, but the breadmaker still has to finish its cycle 😎

I guess things have moved on a lot since our bread maker days then, @shanibeer. All you say sounds right to me, but at the time I didn't know of a way to pause / just open the machine. Needless to say our bread maker is no longer in use as it started malfunctioning - our favourite was the fruit bread :D

It was very non-compliant: just switch the machine off and open the lid! When you have finished adding chocolate chips or creating plaits, put the dough back in and switch the machine back on. You had to be quick before the machine cooled down too much and affected the rising time. But it's all a bit silly really: what I like about the bread maker is that you load it up, switch it on and walk away!
I was very surprised how expensive bread makers are now (I was looking for @marblely), I'm sure that I didn't spend that amount of money when I bought mine.

We actually got ours as a present many years ago but I don't think we'd replace it, @shanibeer. It was good that you can just leave to do its job but I did feel it was too hard to cut into slices and, well, frankly, it didn't last long ! :D

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hey @partiko, good to see you :)

Good to see you too! Thank you so much for supporting us! We hope you enjoyed using Partiko!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, @partiko is a very handsome app 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65