My Gardening Report Card: September 18 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

I missed @simplymike's Steemit Community Garden Journal Challenge 5 (September) but I wanted to post some pictures of my garden. This was the first year of my new vegetable garden at the back of the house. Originally I kept this as a natural habitat, but I enjoy spending time at the back and it catches the sun, so early this year I had the retaining walls and steps put in.

IMG_2177.JPG
The heroes of the year have been the tomatoes. I grew four plants, each a different variety, and they have been laden with fruit. In previous years, I have maybe had five tomatoes from pot-grown plants - hardly worth the months of cosseting! We have had a superb summer and we added two lots of home-grown compost to these beauties. The last crops are ripening now and there will be very few green ones left for chutney.

IMG_2175.JPG
The other side of the steps we are growing Purple Sprouting Broccoli. It's been constantly attacked by slugs, but it's kept growing anyway. I'm hoping we will have some tasty spears in Spring next year.

Just behind the broccoli on the left is the last of the courgette plant, with two tiny courgettes just growing. My neighbour gave me this plant and it's produced just the right amount of courgettes each week for my family. I would say this was the second most productive crop we grew over the summer. Next year, I'll give it just a little more room to trail.

To the right of the broccoli is our first-year rhubarb. This needs a bit of loving and this may not be the best spot for it, although it has thrown up three or four new stalks.

On the top bed on the right are some butternut squash plants. We didn't plant these, they just grew when we put some compost down along with a hundred tiny tomato plantlets. We kept two squash just to see how they do. This area had been covered by invading bamboo from next door and took about three days to clear (see picture below).

Over on the left at the top are some cardoon plants. These are strange creatures. They look a bit like celery and I understand it is the stems you eat, but we've not tried them yet. At the top of the picture you can just see a hawthorn branch with berries.

IMG_2179.JPG
Here's our surviving aubergine plant. It's very pretty and you can just see the pretty mauve flowers. There are some fruits hidden under the leaves, we might get a crop before the frosts.

IMG_2001.JPG
Here's the scary bamboo before we cleared it. Some new shoots are already showing. It's going to be an ongoing job, I reckon.

IMG_2160.JPG
Last but not least, certainly in size, is my cauliflower plant, a cut and come again variety that grows eight to ten tennis ball size heads. I'm still waiting to see any sign of fruiting. It seems they take about nine months from planting to harvesting.

We also had a great crop of corn, perhaps twenty-five to thirty ears, but they have finished now. I was impressed with them, as were all my neighbours. Not shown are our chilli and asparagus plants, they're in pots by a sunny wall, and our herb garden, which has done quite nicely. The biggest fail was the beans, they just didn't work at all. Maybe due to total neglect. Next year, I'd love to try some potatoes.



5400
Moving Around Office, Walking

Sort:  

We have a bambus, too, of the "trying to rule the world" variety. Fortunately my sister's guinea pigs love bambus :) Now they only get a bit every other day but during the winter it's the only fresh green you don't have to pay for - and we all know how expensive cucumber or lettuce is in the winter. So they get quite a lot of bambus.

Ah, perhaps I should get some guinea pigs!

It's so nice to see you on Needlework Monday and also gardening tag :) I enjoy seeing photos from others' garden as a hobby gardener.

Thank you @akipponn :) I have really enjoyed my garden this year, it's very nice to go outside and potter about for an hour or two. Do you enjoy gardening, too?

Sure! Some failures but I learn a lot every year and gradually improve my gardening skill ;) My garden:
https://steemit.com/japanese/@akipponn/sawyg (It's written in Japanese but a lot of photos!)

Lots of greens and tomatoes and radishes - and a fig tree! I like the nasturtium, do you eat them? What is the green paste?

Those tomatoes look great, @shanibeer. Here we've had quite a few as well thanks to the weather. I think they could have done with more watering as some are a bit 'dry' (to my taste) ...

Congrats! You just reached level 2 milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 20 Actifit tokens for attaining 5400 tracked activity!
You also received an 0.79% upvote via @actifit account.

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3881.05 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 35535.05
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.265 which ranks you at #19643 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 24 places in the last three days (old rank 19667).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 426 contributions, your post is ranked at #284.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78