Holiday Half Marathon Complete! {Sometimes Just Making it to the Start is a Win}

in #actifit5 years ago

Hey guys! Happy Monday! It's Memorial Day here in the US, so today we honor those who made the biggest sacrifice serving our country. I've joined in on a race many years in a row on this holiday, and today was no exception! You might have noticed I've been training for quite a while for this one. 😉

Well despite all my hard work leading up to this, I had quite a few obstacles that made just getting to the start line a challenge. A week ago my low back and hips started giving me some trouble, so I took off all last week from running to try to rest up. I also had a great sports massage with cupping to try to help, and an adjustment from the chiropractor. Both definitely helped, but I knew I wouldn't be quite 100%. Then yesterday I got hit with some stomach issues that left me quite depleted. When I woke up this morning I was on the fence whether or not it was even going to happen, but luckily after eating some breakfast and getting a super quick test run I knew I could at least try!

Though I was still a bit off riding to the race, the beautiful sky heading in was very calming. Having @dksart to support me helped, too, of course!

I actually started off with a pretty good pace. My back loosened up, so my stride settled in fairly well. However, the wheels started coming off soon after. I think I was a bit dehydrated even at the start, and as the weather warmed up my body started rebelling. Around mile 4 my stomach started cramping. By mile 5 I opted to walk for a bit to try to let it relax and take some fuel. After that I tried to alternate running and walking as I just got ridiculously fatigued. I took water at every station and just tried to cruise and listen to my body.

This was my slowest half ever, but I'm still pretty darn proud I gutted it out to finish! The course was beautiful, so I wish I had used my walk breaks to take some photos. The trail alternated between paved sections and a wooden boardwalk. Most of it was under tree cover, which did help with the heat a bit. Though the finish was a bit brutal as we had to jump on the hot track for the last 1,000 meters. My watchband broke as I was rounding the last curve. 🤷

Sometimes life just throws some curve balls. What can you do but roll with it, right? I'm feeling pretty well now, so hopefully the slow pace means I'll recover better than a fast finish. Time to rest up and then start working on the next goal and keep moving forward!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


30125
Running

Sort:  

Haha yah! Gratz!

The most important step is the first one. Especially when you have prepared like you obviously did to go the distance.

Again, I will take a delegation of some of those 30k steps!

Thanks Zeke! I would have gladly let you take at least a few thousand of these steps for me, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

What an incredible achievement. Shame about that watch band!

Posted using Partiko Android

I appreciate the support! The good thing is that at least I can get a new watch band to replace this one, but I do feel naked while I wait for it to come in! I always wear one, so it feels weird not to have it on. :)

Congratulations on completing the half marathon dear

Time to rest up and then start working on the next goal and keep moving forward

Loving your positive mindset

Thanks Nathan! No sense dwelling on what could have been. It's much more exciting to think about what will be in the future! 🤩

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats @plantstoplanks 💙 ♩♬

Posted using Partiko Android

Much appreciated @bluengel!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great run despite not your best time. Well done!

Thanks Eddie! Happens to us all, right? I really did enjoy the training for this block, so despite the outcome I'm happy with the work I put in leading up to the race. Time to bring it back down for some shorter and hopefully faster racing up next! 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done @plantstoplanks. I couldn't do it now, in fact my ortho doc says running
Is one thing I should avoid, but cycling and swimming is okay.
Go figure. Post upvoted.

How's the hip recovering? That's the good thing-- there's so many other activities besides running to keep you fit! Especially summers down here, swimming is a nicer option, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

And swimming is my favorite, but not necessarily in a crowded public pool.
I grew up with easy access to the (then clean) Canoochee River in S Ga,
And I was amphibious. Now, it has been a long time since I've been in
A pool, and there are two within a couple of blocks of here. I am
Reticent about who is using them and how well they are kept
Clean; I don't want to get some infection in my new hip
Incision (almost but not quite healed) I know, I'm
Being paranoid, as far as the hip, I am ecstatic.
I am moving better right now than I have in
Over 2 yrs. Due to the enforced inactivity
And Opioid use, I ballooned up from
182 to 195. As of this morning I'm
Back down to 185. I need to drop
Some more weight. More out
Doors activities, learning to
Use my new camera will
Help. Thanks @plantstoplanks.
Do you know much about a
DSLR Camera and its use?
image.png

That's great that you are feeling so well! I don't have much experience with DSLR cameras. I usually just use my phone for everything now!

@jerrysuseer I Googled Canon support for my camera and on their site they had a series of manual downloads.
Maybe you can do the same?
Google the brand name of your camera for support.
Blessings!

Thats a nice medal out there.!!💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! A fine one to add to my collection indeed! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know why, but I'm taking immense pride in your completing the race! You're kind of my hero of the women of Steem. You showed tremendous grit in even getting in the car and going to race. And you paid attention to your body and did what you could to minimize all the the bad things that happened before the race. You're one smart lady - kudos!

Aww, well I'm humbled that my efforts inspire you! I think it's important to share that even when people think things come easily to others, it really isn't always the case. I've been running for 10 years, so it's taken me a long time to build up to this level and even then many things are out of my control. Like your post the other day said, I think we'd all accomplish more if we did just a little bit each day than not even trying when we can't do a lot! Let's keep at it and continue to stand strong for all the ladies my friend! ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

@plantstoplanks, congratulations on completing the half marathon. You persevered through all those obstacles, to God be the glory.

Thank you! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats for your half marathon!!!:)
The medal is so pretty!🏅
It's hard to be a runner sometimes. Especially when we never know when injury will come our way. Just the fact that you managed to finish it is already an accomplishment!

Out of curiosity, in how much time have you completed your fastest half marathon?

Thank you! It is a nice medal. The peach actually spins, too! Gotta love a nice finisher reward. 😉

Yes, any sport there is always the possibility for illness or injury, so sometimes despite our best efforts we have to listen to our bodies and scale back when needed. My best half marathon time was last year at a different race 1:50:53. That one went exactly opposite--everything from the weather to how I felt was perfect! I was hoping this time for around 1:55 based on how my training was going up until this last week. That's ok, though, I worked as hard as I could that day and that's what I'll carry with me!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's amazing. You're a real gazelle. 1:50^^
You are absolutely right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77