Weekend Running & My First Actifit Report Card: September 23 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Another weekend in the books! And I finally tried @actifit. My stats don't look stellar, but my steps for my run this morning out on the trail didn't get logged. I'll have to try out the aggressive background action next time to see if that works better. At least I got over 5,000 steps doing laundry and meal prep today as I walked around the house. ;)

Since @actifit is jumping on to help support the @runningproject community, I figured it was about time to jump on their bandwagon and give the activity app (Dapp??) a try, as well! However, I do like what quite a few of the other folks are doing by adding content to their @actifit posts and editing after the initial post goes up with extra photos and text. Anything that gets people out and moving more has value, but since I think I have proven I already move quite a bit regularly through my runs, workouts, and general daily work with clients I don't think a simple post with how many steps I have taken in a day is worthy of much reward in the world of Steem. Posting along with a running update definitely seems more interesting in my opinion, so most likely the only posts you'll see from me with my steps for the day will come along with a running or other activity recap.

As I talked about in my last running update, I am on track to log quite a few more miles coming up this next month than I have been and this weekend was no exception! I got out on both Saturday and Sunday for the first time in quite a while. Saturday morning was a muggy 5k, and then this morning was a run on a local trail with one of my clients.

I had originally intended the 5k to be a possible PR attempt, but didn't quite get the training in beforehand to really be able to give it a good shot. The weather also just was not conducive to fast running. As expected, the humidity was brutal enough to really make the run quite uncomfortable. I was actually pleased to come in under 24 minutes. My time was about 30 seconds faster than my last 5k, so I'll take it as heading in the right direction. I beat out the next woman in my age group by 4 seconds to take 1st for our bracket, so it was a good enough performance for a prize! For some reason I had a feeling I had a few people on my tail, so I sprinted to the finish line with all that I had left.

This morning was a bit nicer to start out, especially since the trail we set out on was down by the river. It warmed up by the time we finished for sure, but it was nice to have a slightly more comfortable start. We both had run the race yesterday, so today's session was a bit easier. Lots of stretching and mobility work to start out, then we just did a Fartlek-style run with some hill and speed work thrown in for short intervals. @dksart went along for the ride again, as well, for his own activity and more photo ops. My client (and very good friend after 8 years of working together) has been a good sport to help me get some more photos for my blogging and marketing.

All in all it was quite an active weekend! Looks like another week of hot and humid to start out my noon run groups on Tuesday and Wednesday, but then the October forecast is predicted to start cooling off to a bit more seasonal temperatures.



5506
House Chores, Walking



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa

Sort:  

Actifit takes a while to settle down but it's a very strong motivator once it's working properly. Lovely post and great to hear @actifit is working with @runningproject.

Thanks for the feedback! Good to know it is not just me. :) I'll see how it works on Tuesday when I get out for my next run.

Very nice! I thought I would make a post with activit activity too, but now I realized I need to make it the same day. Bummer. I'm always in a coma by the end of the day.

Haha, yeah I think there are a few features they could adjust to make more user-friendly, but I guess the best way to find out what those are is to have people like us try it out. I won't use it every day, but can see it being a great motivator for some people so I'll do what I can to support the initiative. :)

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Man, that’s a great job @plantstoplanks- congrats on smoking the other lady in your age group too :). When you say humid, I picture such a heavy feeling (like hanging out in someone’s mouth) the likes of which we do not experience in LA so under the circumstances, you crushed it. The end of the race sprint is always a powerful moment… that’s also when gangster rap comes in handy :)

Haha, I had a feeling she was hot on my tail so I found that last gear to push to the finish. A little competition can definitely help push you just a bit more than you may push yourself otherwise. ;)

Oh goodness, it gets pretty muggy here in the summer. Maybe not as bad as some places, but the humidity does absolutely impact my running. I really do feel heavier and it is harder to breathe. Once the weather changes I feel like I can fly!

Wow that is quite the running pace, congratz for winning a prize for it. Nice to see you tried out Actifit and are also implementing it in normal post :)

Thanks! I still have some more goals to hit to shave down my time again, but no shame on giving all that I had on that particular day. I am going to give Actifit a try again today when I lead a group training run. I'll be curious to see if it picks up my steps better in the aggressive tracking mode. The only problem for me with that is my phone is getting older so it drains battery power really quickly, so we'll see.

Congrats! You just reached level 2 milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 20 Actifit tokens for attaining 5506 tracked activity!
You also received an 0.76% upvote via @actifit account.

Cool, thanks! :)

Someone's sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82