My Actifit Report Card: October 1 2018

in #actifit6 years ago

Hello all,

So today was yet another adventure in composting in Budapest. Once again, i gathered up the heavy shopping bag of compost buckets, and trekked out to the now assuredly open waste center. I walked the long driveway to the gate again, and was this time directed to their compost facility. After yet another long walk down their facility, which is a huge compound of different areas, I came to the composting section. Massive heaps of steaming organic matter. I was thinking to myself that I would finally be able to deposit my burden, which at this point was causing severe pain in the fleshy parts of my hands. Plastic reusable shopping bags are not great for heavy loads. So, I went in to a little outpost building to see how to go about giving them the compost. And sadly, the person did not speak English. So I had to show them the kitchen scraps. They immediately said no. It was quite a blow to my emotions, because I was pretty hopeful about this. And really didn't want to cart it back home. But, I had no choice. I had to carry it home once again. On my way out of the compound, I came across a very cute, skinny, and skittish cat. Spent some time petting it, but it kept running away. One of the security guards asked me what I had, and upon telling him he suggested I just chuck it in the nearby woods. Not a bag suggestion but I haven't given up yet on following proper protocol for this.

Which leads to my other efforts of today. I went to another recommended composting facility, run by the local garbage company (I think) so this was a short jaunt by the subway. I had left the compost at home, because this offers paid home pickup. But, unfortunately, just like the other facility, they only allow garden debris, not food scraps. Yet again I was disappointed. I'm having absolutely no luck with this. If anyone knows of an organization that does composting of food scraps in Budapest, I would be immensely grateful for that information.

I ended off my day with a shopping trip, and headed home carrying a(thankfully lighter) reusable shopping bag. All this walking and public transport has given me a fairly good mental layout of the nearby area. It's nice to start feeling a little more confident about that, even if things aren't going the greatest.

Namaste.

Until next time,

Nathaneil

11054
Walking

Sort:  

Congrats! You just reached the top level milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 100 Actifit tokens for attaining 11054 tracked activity!
You also received an 4.66% upvote via @actifit account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49