Depressing music, stressful movie & actifit

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

A last minute attempt to be good. On the cross trainer, so it meant I could read or watch something. I thought I’d listen to some music vids, I ended listening to this:

It was depressing...

Then I listened to this:

Depressing too, but impressive. I’ve never listened to Johnny Cash when he was alive.

Since the music vids that youtube suggested wasn’t working out, I ended up on the SBS free movie site and watched a foreign film titled, The Door. It was a thriller where an artist was too busy having sex with his neighbour and was not around to save his daughter when she drowned in the pool. Years later, he follows a butterfly and discovers a door to take him back to that moment. He saves his daughter but accidentally kills his old self. Now he’s got to cover up his murder of himself and the daughter knows he’s not her original daddy...

It was a stressful movie to watch. I was glad to stop at 5k of steps, I needed a break from the oppressive movie. I stopped when he was digging up his dead self to find his mobile phone...🙄

Maybe I should have just kept reading Dune.


5250
Aerobics

Sort:  

I'm just getting caught up on friends' posts. Ahhh... I can't listen to Tears in Heaven anymore. Since having kids of my own, I get way too emotional when I am faced with thoughts like that. Makes me want to go in and hug my kids and not let go.

I'd stick with Dune too.

Missed you on the blockchain, so I’m glad to see you visit! And I understand. My whole world is centered around my girls. I can’t imagine life without them. As I said on discord, reading the other book, will switch back to Dune soon. :)

Do you know what that Eric Clapton song is about? That is even more depressing. It is about his son that died when he fell out of a 49 story balcony. Eric is one of my go to music guys. On a good note I am happy to see you on the actifit boat also. Are you going to do the planking challenge they have going?
Edit: this is one of my all time favorite Johnny Cash songs

My wife says I sound like Johnny Cash . He grew up in a town about 100 miles from where I did in my home state.

Yes, I know the backstory of Tears in Heaven. It was so terrible the circumstances his son died. It’s one of those situations I hear about and I just want to hold onto my children, to never let them out of my sight. I am actually having a lot of anxiety at the moment at the idea of letting the mother-in-law take our twins away for a week on school holidays to visit a family farm. Listening to this song doesn’t help! And when you add that movie of parental neglect resulting in tragedy, it all got a bit too much. But hubby and I realize we are too helicopter, so I’m trying to contain my panic and let go a little more.

However, this song also makes me think of death in general. I’ve been listening to it a lot lately, I’m not sure why. It’s as if I’m bracing myself to the idea that people will start dying around me. It makes me think of my childhood, and how one day the people who filled my world back then will no longer be with us. It’s just too depressing to contemplate. I feel down just writing this.

A plank challenge? Mcfarhat mentioned doing comps, but I’ve been having so much trouble with actifit’s bugginess on iOS and a general lack of inspiration posting in general, I’d not been paying attention. Planks are hard! I used to try the challenges my fitter Facebook pals organised, but I’d never last...I’ll have a peek though. Thanks for the heads up.

Hope you’ve been well.

omg the mother-in-law taking the twins... I haven't let that happen yet. Courage and deep breaths to you, mama. Trust.

Listening to this version of Hurt is something eerily special.

Take care of you, body, mind and heart. :)

I know...trust. deep breath
I’m a worrier.

Yeah, Cash’s version was much better than the original imo.

And it’s been nice to see you taking time out for you in your blog. I’m big on women doing that. You keep taking care of you too. I’ll be reading.

I just listened to your fav Johnny Cash song. I had to listen to it a second time before it caught on, to really focus on the words. I like how it’s a love song to mateship. I love the chorus and what I really enjoy about him is the character of his voice. After hearing him sing the cover of Hurt, I’d actually read up on him and listened to a few other songs. I watched his final performance as well. It’s amazing to me to listen to aging singers still being able to hold an audience.

You sound like Johnny Cash? As in you can sing?! When can we expect to see you in that open mic singing contest thingy?

Anyway, I’ve been feeling nostalgic this last week and hunting old songs. Here’s another song I’ve been listening to and trying to decide which I liked more, the old or the new. Like I never listen to Simon and Garfunkel!

not sure if I can sing or not. She just tells me my voice sounds like him. I will talk in the plank challenge deal and you can tell me what you think.

Wtf? I’m not recording myself doing exercise, let alone doing a plank! Ewwww...
But it’ll be funny to see you try to break the world record. What better way to promo Steem than to have one of our own get into the Guinness Book of Records! 🤣

You go, doomy! I have faith in you!
shaking virtual Pom-poms

I still think it might be a bit ambitious to do 8 hours, I mean, if you can even last singing the length of one song, that’s impressive stuff!

Oh god no. It is challenging other steemians for prize of like 40,000 actifit tokens I think. The world record is 10 hours. the most any steemian has got so far is like 10 minutes I think. I may be stubborn enough to get 10 minutes.

I saw the vid, so why are we commenting here, why am I not commenting on your plank vid post? Come on already! 🤣

You have to make 11 minutes at least, but reckon you’ll win if you can last the hour....

Glad to see @linnyplant here again ! :)
Too bad you Ewwww to posting plank vids hahaa

Awww, sorry....that’s me eeewwwing at the idea of me doing a vid planking! Lol. I’ll be a good actifittian and resteem that contest post properly.

Congrats! You just reached level 2 milestone via using Actifit fitness tracker and provided Proof of Activity!
You accordingly gained 20 Actifit tokens for attaining 5250 tracked activity!
You also received an 0.89% upvote via @actifit account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54