You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hashing along my Voyage - My Actifit Report Card: December 15 2018

in #actifit5 years ago

Excellent achievement in making it to the gym 4 days in a row. I know you'll make it 5 tomorrow! All your talk about graphic cards and overclocking and benchmarks....whew! Very impressive! I'm sure you could give my miners an overhaul and really improve them. But since I have no skills beyond plug it in and connect to the mining pool I'm stuck with the strategy of "if it ain't broke then leave it alone!"

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you very much for the kind praise @blueeyes8960 ^o^ graphics cards are very versatile but I can't help but wonder where the mining community is going to go. Almost every algorithm has an asic and blows away GPUs. And FPGAs might be the next big thing but seem super complicated to set up and for many thousands of dollars each. GPUs seem very flexible and a staple for the mining. I think most of my mining time has been on Nicehash and they support many algorithms. It's almost hands off as long as overclocks and temps are managed with a different program. Sadly Nicehash takes a long time to support a new algorithm and that new alt coin could 10x or 40x before it's minable on Nicehash. I still prefer to receive and hold BTC than an Altcoin these days. At the end of the day profit is profit, I would even speculate and fancy the unrealized profits ^o^

I've seen some people submerge their Asics in mineral oil bath and Max out the overclocks. But it makes plastic brittle. I've been tempted for a long time to do a mineral oil PC but it has to be built to where there's no need to ever upgrade and it's maxed out.

Without doing something extreme, a modest overclock on Asics might be fine with stock fans and power.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87