Is it wise to keep doing psychedelics after finding the answers of the universe?

in #acid8 years ago

Psychedelic experience is only a glimpse of genuine mystical insight, but a glimpse which can be matured and deepened by the various ways of meditation in which drugs are no longer necessary or useful. If you get the message, hang up the phone. For psychedelic drugs are simply instruments, like microscopes, telescopes, and telephones. The biologist does not sit with eye permanently glued to the microscope, he goes away and works on what he has seen..."

One of my earliest experiences with LSD was also one of my most powerful and transformative. At the peak, I was unable to tell whether I had my eyes open or closed, and I remember thinking to myself, "If there is no difference between the inside and the outside, where am I?" At that moment, I experienced ego death and communion with the universe.

For years, I pondered that experience and sought to recreate it. However, despite a few minor insights about my motivations in life, I never reached another "peak experience" like that. Now I find myself wondering if the big questions were already answered and that the only thing left to gain from tripping is entertainment. I suppose it's not a bad idea to refresh those feelings on a visceral basis a couple of times a year, but what do you think?

Does it make sense to continue exploring the psychedelic experience after gaining these sorts of insights? Does that stifle further development that may be possible if you truly seek to live in such a way (as one, with compassion for all) while sober?

Sort:  

Well sure, you might have found the answers to this universe, but why stop at just 1?

Good question. I've had major, life-changing experiences with DMT and shrooms and salvia, and I haven't done those in particular too often since. Lately, LSD for me has been more of an anti-anxiety plus wonderful social-enhancing trip, then again I microdose with that (well, one hit max) in those situations. I guess it depends on the dose.

I think it depends on the path of the person. I would love to achieve those states in meditation, and I know that we can (we have DMT trips every night asleep but mostly aren't aware), but it takes dedication and I fall out of it more often than I would like. ;\

No matter the path, there's always such thing as too much. For me, I think a major trip occasionally is fine, you know, squeegee your third fuckin eye ;) but some people don't think it's necessary.

Yes, our egos act as a defence mechanism and sometimes it malfunctions especially in a world with so much information about. I like you use it to dissolve the ego almost as a reset button. Once you see the game for what it is anxiety melts away. However the thing with games is that you can easily get sucked back into it and forget you're in a game. I advocate the use of psychedelics once or twice a year.
I also believe that through every generation as more information is shared lsd becomes even more powerful interms of connecting the dots. We only have to see how many geniuses have emerged from using lsd. We wouldn't have technology today if it wasn't for lsd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46